. .
    Hi, Im dan

I'm a CAD Engineer by day, and a self taught machinist by night. Two years ago I bought a second hand StoneyCNC MegaMill, which has been great. I've got to grips with the basics of programming with Fusion 360. Im now fairly confident cutting aluminium, but I want to take it to the next level - thats why im here.

I tend to program very conservatively, using known recipes borrowed from internet research, small cutters (6mm) and the parts ive made so far have been small flanges and brackets. I got big ideas tho, the cutting area on the machine is huge for its class, but I need to cut faster and the complexity and time it takes to generate toolpaths in fusion is getting out of hand.

The machine has a Teknomotor 2kw spindle, it operates best between 12000-24000 and has er25 collet so goes up to 16mm tooling
    The bed moves at up to 4000mm/min - I need to do some tests, but in most situations i don't see it get that high, as i don't think it accelerates fast enough. Most of the things i machine are more organic shapes, rather than straight sided.
    Its all controlled through UCCNC, and ive just got a fogbuster too, to help when I ramp everything up.

Something that would help massively is if I could use that 16mm capacity and a decent tool and recipe to hog out material, I've no idea what will work tho, and tooling gets expensive at that size.

Dan

Quote Originally Posted by donfrondo View Post
    small cutters (6mm)
    Small ? <0.5mm is where small starts.

Welcome to the forum Dan.

Cheers,

Rob-T

The spindle collet might take 16mm cutters, but at those spindle speeds that's going to be for cutting wood/plastic!