Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
  1. #31
    So, anybody got a good source for proximity sensors?
    As i have understood, im in the market for the inductive kind. 4 mm sensing distance would do it and NPN/PNP should not matter with the Csmio IP-M. Emergency switch, some resistors and a main switch is also on the shopping list right now...
    Last edited by JW1977; 2 Weeks Ago at 07:08 AM.

  2. #32
    it depends on the budget your working to

    if its a hobby machine then try amazon or ebay etc
    buy 1 to check the quality then order the others you need

    for a business machine you use to make a living
    look at industrial suppliers like RS Components , Farnell or Rapidonline
    for original proximity sensors not the cheep clones found else ware online

    you will pay more but they will be to the published specification
    example
    https://uk.farnell.com/multicomp/mcp...imity%20sensor

    John

    PS
    after looking at your location

    https://se.farnell.com/

    https://se.farnell.com/multicomp/mcp...weden%2Fsearch
    Last edited by john swift; 2 Weeks Ago at 03:57 PM. Reason: add example link to https://se.farnell.com/

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to john swift For This Useful Post:


  4. #33
    Don't waste money buying the expensive switches Just buy the cheap Chinese switches off ebay.

    I've fitted 100's and probably had about 3 in total that was faulty out of the bag. I've had about 5 fail in use over a 10yr+ period all on different machines.
    The accuracy is more than good enough for any Router or DIY Milling machine.

    The IP/M doesn't care which you use but I always fit NPN switches.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  6. #34
    Quote Originally Posted by JW1977 View Post
    So, anybody got a good source for proximity sensors?
    As i have understood, im in the market for the inductive kind. 4 mm sensing distance would do it and NPN/PNP should not matter with the Csmio IP-M. Emergency switch, some resistors and a main switch is also on the shopping list right now...
    Why the resistors.? You don't need any for the IP/M

  7. #35
    Maybe you got confused with all the chatter of 10k internal resistors, pull-up resistors and so on. You paid good money for a quality controller and therefore the prox sensors just plug straight in !

    I think I used resistors on the 12V front panel LEDs to run off 24V but that depends on how, or if , you want indicator lights for status and so on. For example they can also be mains powered indicator lights.
    Building a CNC machine to make a better one since 2010 . . .
    MK1 (1st photo), MK2, MK3, MK4

  8. #36
    Sorry guys, fuses, not resistors! Theres a lot on my mind right now...
    However, havent got to it yet, collecting the final parts right now but, i read about one resistor in the driver manual.

    Remark:
    VCC is compatible with 5V or 24V;
    R(3~5K) must be connected to control signal terminal.

    If im not mistaken i think i read about it in in the Csmio manual also but they recommend a 2K resistor there!?
    Last edited by JW1977; 2 Weeks Ago at 06:33 AM.

  9. #37
    Neale's Avatar
    Lives in Plymouth, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 13 Hours Ago Has been a member for 6-7 years. Has a total post count of 1,247. Received thanks 236 times, giving thanks to others 5 times.
    Couple of odd comments:

    IP/M is very happy with direct connection of prox switches running on 24V. Works well.

    IP/M drives the usual stepper drivers directly without needing any resistors. Use differential connection if your drivers support this - better noise resistance.

    Unlike Jazz, I've not been too lucky with prox switches from eBay. I bought a box of ten. One was the wrong type (unbelievable! Two-wire, quite obviously not the same as the rest of the 3-wire switches), one was faulty straight from the box, and one failed very shortly after fitting. However, the rest have been working fine for a couple of years now, and the whole box probably cost less than one "professional" quality switch. That's the difference between home building and commercial - commercial machine could not stand that level of quality, but it suits my pocket!

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Neale For This Useful Post:


  11. #38
    I too bought a box of 10 from China.

    The machine I have from MD had end-on axial sensing and I crushed a sensor whilst jogging (the machine, not me!), In my naivety I ordered a replacement from MD and it cost £17.50 (ouch, ouch,ouch). When I crushed that one, I ordered 10 from China and converted the sensing to bypass.Some have orange sensor ends and a grey cable and some have blue ends and a black cable. I have 9 of them left. They are all NO and 4mm.

    Cheers,

    Rob-T
    Mark Twain said that no amount of evidence will convince an idiot.!

  12. #39
    I also have had about 30 from AliExpress with no duds with pnp and npn types.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  13. #40
    My chicom mechanical switches are quite reliable, omron copies.

    They are not too accurate, and the mechanical assys are terrible, in terms of machinist parts.
    0.01-02 mm +/- in repeatability/accuracy is terrible.
    For my cnc lathe, industrial quality.

    But for routers, they are much more than good enough.

    (My lathe is for sub-micron or 1 micron repeatability.)

    Cheap 5$ optical limit switches provide about 2 microns accuracy, fairly easily.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. G540, homing switches and mach3
    By marbles in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-06-2018, 01:55 PM
  2. Problem with homing
    By Andyman in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-03-2016, 06:56 PM
  3. Homing switches & 'methods of working' (Mach3)
    By HankMcSpank in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 18-10-2012, 11:54 PM
  4. Homing Switches
    By m_c in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 10:21 PM
  5. A simple query about homing switches & milling practise
    By HankMcSpank in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-06-2009, 10:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •