. .

Thread: New to CNC

Hello all.

New Member hoping to get into the world of DIY Self Build CNC machines, primarily a router initially.
    I have no practical experience of CNC Machines but did some Coding simulation in Auto Desk Inventor during my Mechanical Engineering HNC course several years ago.

I have a new project coming up next year where I will be converting a VW Van to a Camper. The furniture units can be made or bought as a flat pack and installed but you get a generic layout unless you commission a bespoke build which can cost 1000's.
    So, being the inquisitive type I am, I am looking to make my own cabinets from 15 mm Lightweight Furniture Plywood myself on a Gantry type CNC Router.
    The biggest piece of board I will have to work with is 1300 mm by 800 mm.

So I have ordered the following from China to get me going and to aide my design. I have a spare 32 bit PC to use with the CNC Software and will use Autodesk Inventor on my 64 bit PC.

2pcs SBR16 - 350mm linear rail
    2pcs SBR16 - 1000mm linear rail
    2pcs SBR16 - 1500mm linear rail
    12pcs SBR16UU block
    1pc* SFU1605 - 350mm ballscrew with ball nut* *(BK12/BF12 end machined)
    1pc* SFU1605 - 1000mm ballscrew with ball nut*(BK12/BF12 end machined)
    2pcs SFU1605- 1500mm ballscrew with ball nut* (BK12/BF12 end machined)
    4pcs BK/BF12 Support
    4pcs 6.35*10mm coupling
    4pcs Nut housing

I am planning on having 2 X-Axis Ball Screws to avoid rake, I just don't know at this stage how the 2 screws will be driven. Belt driven form 1 NEMA 23 motor or each screw with its own motor (I have ordered 4 motors/couplers/drivers).