. .

Thread: Gecko g540

Hi everyone I'm looking for a bit of help regarding the gecko g540, I have got following cnc,

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-5KW-CNC...sAAOSwSe1dFcr7

And I'm a complete noob regarding the inner working of these machines so I wanted to know that if I upgraded to the gecko is it a straight forward swap or is it more complicated than that?

going by the photos of the CNC router

To replace the original stepper drivers and breakout board with a G540

you need to find out what motor current the original stepper drivers are set to
    very often there is no motor part number or details provided

( you may have to guess and set the current to 2A for example
    test the motor when connected to the G540
    check the temperature is not over 70C with the axis stepping
    note - when the axis is idle the G540 reduces the current
    if it gets too hot reduce the current and re test ! )

once you know what the motor current should be
    you just need to fit a resistor to each 9 pin plug as described in the Gecko manual
    ( 1000 ohms per amp upto the maximum or 3500 for 3.5 amps )

more details of the VFD used in the CNC router will be needed
    to determin if the VFD can power the G540's PWM to analogue converter
    or if you need to add a low power 10 V DC supply

John

Thanks for the help. I'm confused now. I was hoping I would just have to plug it in and away I go lol

without seeing inside the machine the chinese machines look the same outside but
    the electronics used inside can be a mix of whats available at the time

a picture of the inside of the control box will help

John

Quote Originally Posted by Richardtweed View Post
    Thanks for the help. I'm confused now. I was hoping I would just have to plug it in and away I go lol