. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi Folks, My name is Rob.

Years ago I completed a Degree In 3D Design. I became good at 3D Modeling in blender. When I say Modeling, I mean just that. Making a rose or a baroque flourish. Not the sort of CAD that enables me to draw a CNC router and, extrapolate the parts for manufacture. For years I wanted to build a CNC Router to bring my creations to life [Insert Dr Frankenstein evil laugh here].

I decided I need a new hobby and years ago I joined this site. Unfortunately I lost my job and had to put everything apart from working as hard as I could on hold.

Flash forward a few years and I'm ready to make 'the great leap forward'.

During my time here, I would like to get working/modify a really crap reprap 3d-printer I bought from china. (someone here has to know something about these things)

I would also Like to build my own CNC Gantry Router with a work area of 1220x1220 with a Z-Axis depth of about 150mm. My other requirements/constraints are listed below:

1) It's for cutting wood 2d and 3d... ...maybe a little bit of aluminium for making machine parts.
    2)I really want to save money in the long run, so want tore use the electronics in a 1220x2440 machine one day.
    3)It has to run of household mains. (the shed)
    4) water cooled spindle must have beer cooling device attached.
    5) forget I mentioned number four

Skills that may be handy:

A)General Building
    B)I repair my own tools
    C)Build my own computers
    D)Blender 3D
    E)Vector Graphics in Affinity Designer
    F)Don't mind making something for hours and then realize It's the wrong size and then starting again.
    G)Love Linux (Running Arch on a Raspberry Pi and Mint on an Old Apple MacBook Pro, Also have a Windows 10 Graphics rendering Beast)
    H) Can Weld with a Gasless MIG and an ARC
    H)Love a steep learning curve.