. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1
    Hi, I finally dug my machine out and got it running, have a DDCSV 2.1 on the machine now

    What's going wrong?

    Mechanical or software?

    It's meant to look like this
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Test piece fusion.png 
Views:	71 
Size:	151.6 KB 
ID:	27409

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Test piece fusion toolpath.png 
Views:	75 
Size:	265.0 KB 
ID:	27410

    I cut it once, let the cut finish. Turned the power off and on again to machine and then repeated the same cut again next to it to see if I was losing steps.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Test piece cnc.png 
Views:	88 
Size:	603.1 KB 
ID:	27408

    2 cuts look identical to me.

    I used Fusion 360 to generate the Gcode.

    I have AM882's which have fault protection and if you drive them too fast they do fault but running the cut very slow 1m/min not getting any faults
    Adaptive clearing and contour for finishing pass.
    Last edited by Desertboy; 17-02-2020 at 02:58 PM.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  2. #2
    Things I have already done

    Replaced the couplings they were crappy Flexible ones with semi crappy ones
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	coupling replace.png 
Views:	69 
Size:	382.4 KB 
ID:	27411

    Replaced one of my motors with a new 3nm one for the gantry as that was 2nd hand and underpowered, I also have 2 4nm cnc4you ones to drop on the bottom axis which has 2*1.8nm on it at the moment and I will swap one of the motors from my bottom axis onto the Z which has a 1.2nm 2nd hand motor.

    Which won't help but at least it'll cut wrong a bit quicker.

    Made sure the wiring is grounded from the spindle and the Nema's to the GX20 plugs and grounded the wiring from spindle to GX20 socket. The GX20 sockets are mounted on a metal plate that's grounded.

    Checked the soldering and continuity from stepper driver to Nema motors.
    Last edited by Desertboy; 17-02-2020 at 03:26 PM.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  3. #3
    What cutter are you using and what is the stepover?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to cropwell For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Your passes look flat-bottomed as if you were using a square end mill instead of ball nose.

  6. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by cropwell View Post
    What cutter are you using and what is the stepover?
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B073RKDLDR/

    This is the cutter I set it up as a 6mm D 25mm cut length, 2 flute end mill in Fusion

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Stepdown.png 
Views:	57 
Size:	18.3 KB 
ID:	27412

    Run speed full speed, not set up speed control I only intend to do wood and maybe a one off make myself new aluminum plates if I make ever another machine.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  7. #6
    That's a roughing operation. You've set it to leave 0.5mm so you can come back with a finish pass using a ball nose bit or something else.

  8. #7
    OK, it looks as though you are getting steps because the stepover (not stepdown) is too big for a flat bottomed end mill. Try a round nose cutter with a final pass stepover of 10% or less. I don't use Fusion so I don't know the setup parameter screens.

    It looks a bit like you are not getting past the roughing cuts.
    Last edited by cropwell; 17-02-2020 at 04:00 PM.

  9. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Nealieboyee View Post
    That's a roughing operation. You've set it to leave 0.5mm so you can come back with a finish pass using a ball nose bit or something else.
    I also have a contour operation nextClick image for larger version. 

Name:	Stepdown1.png 
Views:	52 
Size:	170.6 KB 
ID:	27414
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  10. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Nealieboyee View Post
    Your passes look flat-bottomed as if you were using a square end mill instead of ball nose.
    I am but it's setup up as
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	6mm Tool.png 
Views:	100 
Size:	17.5 KB 
ID:	27415
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  11. #10
    What is your step over amount?

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Nealieboyee For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Mach3 Problems problems problems.
    By ECCO in forum Artsoft Mach (3 & 4)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-07-2016, 09:07 AM
  2. circle cutting mach 3 problems help please
    By millmateuk in forum Artsoft Mach (3 & 4)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-06-2013, 06:04 AM
  3. Cutting problems on a gerber
    By martin54 in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2013, 08:07 PM
  4. Big problems with cutting HDPE can you help?
    By Nathan_Partington in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2012, 08:44 AM
  5. NEW MEMBER: MDF Problems
    By MrWiz73 in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30-12-2011, 11:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •