. .
  1. #1
    Hi, probably a dumb question but I have a set of Ballnose mills for 3d carving.

    One has R0.75 printed on it and another one has R2 what does this mean? I assume radius and how do I program this into my tool on Fusion 360?

    Thanks
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  2. #2
    How do I set this up?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ballnose tool 1.png 
Views:	29 
Size:	588.9 KB 
ID:	27443
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  3. #3
    yes the R is for radius so the r2 will be diameter of 4mm etc. To set it up in fusion, got to the ,manufacture tab, and the click on manage at the top right of the screen. In the drop down menu select tool library. I personally keep all my tools under the "local" folder so click on local and then mills. in top right click on new mill tool, leftmost of the five icons there and under the cutter tab you can select the type of tool, ballnose being one of them, and input the diameter and length parameters of your tool

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to johngoodrich For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by johngoodrich View Post
    yes the R is for radius so the r2 will be diameter of 4mm etc. To set it up in fusion, got to the ,manufacture tab, and the click on manage at the top right of the screen. In the drop down menu select tool library. I personally keep all my tools under the "local" folder so click on local and then mills. in top right click on new mill tool, leftmost of the five icons there and under the cutter tab you can select the type of tool, ballnose being one of them, and input the diameter and length parameters of your tool
    Of course, lol so set it up as a 1.5mm damn I was having a blonde moment there.

    I am a natural blonde so I can be excused ;)
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  6. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by johngoodrich View Post
    yes the R is for radius so the r2 will be diameter of 4mm etc. To set it up in fusion, got to the ,manufacture tab, and the click on manage at the top right of the screen. In the drop down menu select tool library. I personally keep all my tools under the "local" folder so click on local and then mills. in top right click on new mill tool, leftmost of the five icons there and under the cutter tab you can select the type of tool, ballnose being one of them, and input the diameter and length parameters of your tool
    That worked perfectly thanks machine is finally doing exactly what I want it to.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  7. #6
    No probs

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Carbide taper ball nose cutters
    By Leadhead in forum Tool & Tooling Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-01-2020, 05:45 AM
  2. 1mm Ball Nose Bit Advice
    By dcrowder in forum Tool & Tooling Technology
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18-04-2016, 05:15 PM
  3. WANTED: 3mm Ball nose bit please
    By Fivetide in forum Items Wanted
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2012, 04:06 PM
  4. Where to buy long ball nose mill for foam cutting?
    By jamezwarner in forum Marketplace Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 01:03 PM
  5. FOR SALE: End mills and Ball mills for sale......
    By Jimmybristol in forum Items For Sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-02-2011, 11:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •