. .
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
    Hi Guys,

Stumbled across this site yesterday after doing some research, some awesome info on here!

I currently have an old TOS-KURIM converted knee mill which uses an Anilam Crusader II and analog Indramat drivers for the DC motors. When I bought it everything was working fine but three years in storage while I sorted a home for it seems to have finished it off!

I've had enough of putting hours into trying to fix it and decided it may just be better to upgrade it to something more modern.

My plan is to rip everything out and replace all motors, and electronics and use something along the lines of MACH/Centroid to run it.

That's as far as the plans gone though, I've got plenty of experience running machines but not building them! I'm a bit overwhelmed with all the different motors and the sizes and control boards etc.

Any help would be awesome on what I need for a low budget install, this is purely a home machine for odd jobs so doesn't need to be amazing. I have access to much better machines at work for anything serious.

Thanks,

Jamie

Hi Jamie,

Some pictures of the machine will help to get a feel for what you have. I've not seen or heard of TOS-KURIM and a quick google showed me a gantry Mill with a boat on it.!!! . .Pretty sure your not milling boats...Lol

Provided the machines not too massive then you might get away with some large Closed-loop mains driven steppers. They are very powerful and a lot cheaper and simpler than AC servo's. They won't give the speeds servos will but they will do the job if your not chasing high feeds.

Centroid Acorn would be a good match for the controller.

haha! definitely not going to be getting any boats in the garage any time soon! I've added some photos to help give you an idea of size but its not really much bigger than a standard Bridgeport to be honest. table length is a little over a metre..

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0438.JPG 
Views:	639 
Size:	99.9 KB