. .
    Hi everyone,
    This is my first post on here so appologies if I have put this in the wrong place.

I have been wanting to get a CNC for a few years but have never had the money. I have a budget of around £500 and cant decide how to use it. My options are either a pre built machine / kit like a 3040 router, build a machine from scratch, or convert my Warco WM16 mill to CNC.

I am leaning towards converting my mill as I want to be able to do some machining in aluminium, brass, and maybe steel but I dont know how much this would cost and I would like to still be able to use it like a manual machine afterwards (maybe some kind of hand wheel like on big boy machines).

Anyone with a 3040 type machine, how capable are they and how is the buing experience?

I have a lot of experience with 3D printers and CAD software (Fusion 360) but none with any machining specific software or machines other than watching videos on youtube.

Thanks

Hi GeorgeS
    Welcome to the forum, budget is a little sparse but don't even think about the 3040 machines in that price range, no where near rigid enough for metals.
    hopefully someone with more experience will advise regarding the cost of electronics/power supplies/stepper's ect but your best option is to convert the mill.
    Enjoy your stay.
    Regards
    Mike

I've got a 3040 machine and it's fine for learning on and comes in at a good price. You will not plow through aluminium but in my experience it has been fine for plastics and wood (specifically MDF and plywood). If you are only interested in working with metals then it's probably not the one to go for, if you want to work with softer materials and just learn about working with a router then it is suitable for that purpose.Good luck !
    Last edited by eci22; 19-05-2020 at 02:07 PM.