. .
    Evening all,

I'm currently planning a 4x8 router build. I'm not sure which drive type to go with yet.

My other post http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/13764...r-a-CNC-router

My thinking was to use ballscrews on each axis as in my mind they seem to be the easiest option (apart from the Y axis).

I have no experience with belts, do they stretch out and need adjusting? If so, how often?

P.S. Does anyone else find no matter what you search for, you get the same results in the forum search?
    Last edited by scott88; 15-06-2020 at 09:49 PM. Reason: To add link to my other post

Ballscrews are by far the better choice but they need careful selection and fitting. Rack & pinion is often used on large machines but there is quite a bit more work involved because it needs a gearbox or ratio applied using timing belts n pulleys, also more maintenance required.
    Belts work well for lightweight machines but not so good for heavy gantry machines, they also require correct type and size plus tensioning system. I wouldn't use it for an 8x4 machine but I would on a smaller machine.

However, If you have never built a CNC machine before then I strongly suggest you re-think the size and build something smaller to learn on before attempting an 8x4 machine.!! . . . It's a mistake to think it's the same only on a bigger scale. Many builders have done this and failed or at best they build a machine that sadly leaves them disappointed. Then they try to correct the errors which end up costing them more money, but often they would have been better scrapping it and starting again because can't make a silk purse out of sows ear.!
    -use common sense, if you lack it, there is no software to help that.

Email: [email protected]

Web site: www.jazzcnc.co.uk

Thanks Jazz, I think ballscrews is the answer then.

This might give me a reason to buy a lathe, so I can machine some driven ballnut housings 😁