. .

Thread: Sisyphus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lives in London, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 16-07-2022 Has been a member for 2-3 years. Has a total post count of 25.
    Hi All

I'm a new member, who recently joined the forum and am starting the journey. I've made some progress on designing my machine but have hit a few design issues and questions which I will appreciate help on as well as good general feedback on my overall design. I have experimented a little bit with a machine that I used as a proof of concept and have experienced some of the pains and joys of machining. I have little experience though and no point of reference for a build to know how strong/fast/accurate etc. builds, components or materials are.

My objective
    I intend to build a CNC machine that will be used in product R&D (I'm building GPS tracking devices, and I will use the machine to build prototype cases and small production runs of a few thousand cases). It has to be fast and as accurate and precise (aiming for 0.01) as I can get for a budget of ±£3.5k or ideally less. I accept there may be tradeoffs and adjustment of my expectations! The machine will be used in my (small) office and will eventually be housed in an enclosure to reduce the noise. The machine will mostly cut hard engineering plastic sheets (good finishing quality is essential) and some occasional aluminium for custom moulds or jigs.