. .
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hello,

I'm very new to all this, lots to learn, so apologies for my lack of knowledge.

I'm currently building a motion control rig for videography and need a little help. Getting straight to the point, is there any downside to having a 3-phase rather than 2-phase motor? Are there any special considerations when using a 3-phase motor?

The reason I ask is I accidentally ordered a heavy duty slider from China not realising it had a 3-phase motor. All my planning and purchasing has been around 2-phase motors. I'm now wondering whether I should switch out the 3-phase motor for a 2-phase one or change my driver?

These are all the components I currently have:

Slider - https://www.fuyumotion.com/heavy-dut...robot-arm.html

Large driver for slider - https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/di...ice&order=DESC

PSU - https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/35...0Router%20Kits

4 of these drivers - https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/di...tepper%20Motor

Motion controller - https://www.bfg-motion.com/index.php?p=1_4

I can either purchase a 2-phase motor from the same supplier or a 3-phase driver.

Alternate driver - https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/di...ice&order=DESC

Alternate motor - FM86150SJD04-P(2-phase).pdf

I'd really appreciate any help and advice.

Thanks,

Max

Ok well, 3 phase will actually be better for a photo rig because often 3ph motor as a lower step angle, often 1.2 deg rather than 1.8Deg of a standard stepper so give a smoother action, but this will depend on the motor. Thou in any case 3ph is smoother and are stronger motors in general because of the extra phases so will always be better than 2ph stepper in this environment as you can crank up the micro-stepping on the drives which helps to smooth the action of the motors.

But to be honest I'm wondering why your going with a stepper system, and a cheap one at that, on such a high-end motion control rig.?