. .
    Hello everyone. Thank you for letting me join the group.
    I’m new to CNC and I’m not much of a technical person. I’ve been a Medic for 30 years so I’m now going to stop and do some arty/crafty things that I like doing for some cash. I’m in the process of building a little workshop 14ft x 14ft. Concrete floor, log lap timber. A bit over engineered but at least it’s a solid build. Nearly finished. Lined with Kingspan. Just putting a layer of osb inside to cover up the insulation.
    I also bought a big Startrite jointer planer (very very heavy machine - buyers beware) to make boards. Then I have a table and sash clamps to edge joint planks. I want to make intricate cutting boards with Celtic designs etc.
    I’ve been learning Vectric for quite a long time now - over a year using the free version. Also watching YouTube and reading.
    I’m going to have to commit to a CNC at some point. I’ve been round the houses. It’s not like there are known brands to guide - like Rolls Royce, VW or Lada where you can know where you are.
    I need a small 1m x 1.5m, powerful and efficient CNC but it hasn’t been easy to find what I need within a reasonable price band. Stoney CNC seemed good but expensive. I contacted Avid CNC but it was expensive and when you add delivery, local delivery, customs and then the VAT at 20% of the gross cost and delivery it was completely out the ballpark. I’ve also been looking at eBay but I could be buying problems a learner doesn’t need. Again no brand names and no support.
    I was looking at the Workbee. It seems ok if a bit lightweight. Certainly even with everything included it’s still affordable.
    Are there experienced individuals out there that build CNC machines with all the electronics and Mach 3 on them? Is that a thing? Or am I better going with the Workbee - or recently High Z is the one I was looking at.
    Any input From experienced people would be very gratefully received. Thanks, Bruce.