. .
    Hi everybody! Newbie here in the forum faithfully in need of some advice.

Myself and some fellow astronomy club members are building a 0.8m telescope for an observatory.
    For tracking accuracy encoders are key to detect the position of the telescope mount - you can think of that as a 2-axis machine.

Now the accuracy to take nice pics of the sky -and to do some science with that- translates into a linear accuracy of an incremental encoder of 0.3micron or better.

There are 2 main round surfaces that rotate with the axis and they are/will be ground to -hopefully- less than 0.01mm run-out.
    The idea is to attach linear scales to these rotating surfaces and utilize an encoder.
    The challenge is to do that on a budget i.e. buying used components.

For example I just bought a used RGH22 – it was too cheap not to buy it and just having a closer look at that.
    To start with a silly question: can a Renishaw encoder work with a different linear scale as specified?

Again on linear scales – can it be salvaged from machinery? Is it as ‘expensive’ as the encoder or it’s the cheap part of the equation? I would probably need in excess of 1m for each axis. On ebay it looks like you can find encoders for less than £100 but there aren’t many scales…

Btw the motor control sys is already there and has convenient phase A & B inputs.

Thanks in advance!
    Michele
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RGH22.JPG 
Views:	109 
Size:	41.0 KB 
ID:	29033  

Michele - I'm wondering why you are looking at linear encoders and not rotating? I would have assumed that you want to record the position of rotating joints. Rotary encoders with, say, 10K pulses per rev are readily available but without knowing the geometry of your telescope, I'm not sure how linear and rotating resolution translate.

Hi Neale, very good question - you’re right, what I need to detect is the angular position of an axis.