Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1
    Hi hope someone can help here; I was looking for a lathe for tinkering
    with for small jobs; nothing fancy; anyway got the offer of a shesto cnc
    lathe which ran on the old acorn bbc/b computer which I bought, I would like to upgrade it to a more uptodate pc so i can swap for a manual one. Cad ain't my thing.
    I was looking at one of these 4 axis contollers from ebay japan; has anyone upgraded one of these old cnc machines and what is involved. What do you recommend I buy and which software do I use with it. I am a complete newbie to this so I apologise for my lack of knowledge in this dept.

  2. #2
    Tom's Avatar
    Location unknown. Last Activity: 30-11-2016 Has been a member for 7-8 years. Has a total post count of 172. Referred 1 members to the community.
    Hi scotty,

    Welcome to the forum. Have you got any pictures of the machine you've bought? I'm guessing that because you're thinking of upgrading it, that the BBC computer isn't working?

    You need to work backwards from the motors. Steppers or servos? (steppers probably have 4 or 8 equally sized wires going to them, whereas servos will have 2 fatter wires and 4 or so much smaller wires).
    The motor type decides what controller to buy. Which controller are you thinking of?
    Once the controllers are decided you need to wire it up to a PC.
    The PC then runs software like Mach3 (not free but well-documented), or EMC (free, and getting simpler by the day).

    I hope this helps - it would be great to see some pics...

  3. for info - pics of a shesto cnc lathe on ebay here, starting bid 80 with a reserve

    scotty, why do you want to swap for a manual one? do you want/need something bigger? A CNC lathe can be driven manually and argueably is easier to use that way than a manual lathe...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	!BfPGhw!!mk~$(KGrHqQOKiQErzLD9OnVBL!b8H7VMQ~~_12.JPG 
Views:	343 
Size:	24.3 KB 
ID:	1168  

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by irving2008 View Post
    for info - pics of a shesto cnc lathe on ebay here, starting bid 80 with a reserve

    scotty, why do you want to swap for a manual one? do you want/need something bigger? A CNC lathe can be driven manually and argueably is easier to use that way than a manual lathe...
    Ha! ha! thats my lathe. I was looking for a manual one for small jobs
    CAD/CAM I think is a bit much for me but it did not sell so I will upgrade it
    and teach myself; I just got some autocad notes and software
    I was quoted 290 for new boards and software from cde just wondered if there was a cheaper/better hadware and software alternative

  5. Scotty,

    Well assuming the steppers are OK, you'd need a suitable driver/interface package, which could be as little as 70 or as much as you'd lke to pay, and a PC running Windows/Mach3 or Linux/EMC...

    So your first port of call is to determine what stepper motors are fitted...

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by irving2008 View Post
    Scotty,

    Well assuming the steppers are OK, you'd need a suitable driver/interface package, which could be as little as 70 or as much as you'd lke to pay, and a PC running Windows/Mach3 or Linux/EMC...

    So your first port of call is to determine what stepper motors are fitted...
    Thanks for the help what I know is spindlemotor varible speed dc
    size md 7175

    stepper hy200-3424--170a8

    stepper hy200-2220-100a8

    been advised that a CDE m401 controller and a step1motor card
    should do the trick with free software being a newbie I am looking for
    the best and easiest option here.

    thanks
    scotty

  7. Quote Originally Posted by scotty View Post
    Thanks for the help what I know is spindlemotor varible speed dc
    size md 7175

    stepper hy200-3424--170a8

    stepper hy200-2220-100a8

    been advised that a CDE m401 controller and a step1motor card
    should do the trick with free software being a newbie I am looking for
    the best and easiest option here.

    thanks
    scotty
    From what I can find out, the 3234-170 is a Nema34 size 1.7A 1.7Nm motor, and the 2220-100 is 1A Nema23 0.7Nm size. These are old motors and might be worth considering replacing them eventually... but initially they would be OK. I've attached the data sheet..


    Accordign to CDE's weboste the M401 is 200 and the two Step1 cards 50 each, so you are looking at 300 and these are 3.5A cards which are overkill for the motors you have - this assumes you can reuse the existing power supply. There are other options, and by way of example, a 2-axis System4 with 2.5A cards, including power supply (if needed) from DIYCNC.co.uk would be around 120 (90 without), and the free version of MACH3 would do to learn on...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails HY%20200%203424.pdf  

  8. #8
    Ok ordered the new parts last week inc new power supply can't wait
    to get started

  9. Quote Originally Posted by scotty View Post
    Ok ordered the new parts last week inc new power supply can't wait
    to get started
    what did you go for in the end?

  10. #10
    Just as you advised:-
    and thanks for all your help for pointing me in the right direction;

    system 4 main board,
    two 2.5a bipolar stepper motor drive cards,
    a spindle control module card,
    and power supply

    I'm looking forward to the rewire and getting it up and running.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 25-05-2013, 12:41 AM
  2. 4 Axis TB6560 CNC Driver For NEMA17/23/34 Motor 3A on Ebay update.
    By TommeyReed in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2012, 06:01 PM
  3. NEW MEMBER: Goal - Enable 3-Axis CNC Bed Mill to Perform 5-Axis Milling
    By LoveLearn in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25-01-2012, 08:46 PM
  4. Y axis is making X axis stall...!!
    By fasteddy in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 83
    Last Post: 24-10-2011, 12:19 PM
  5. Precision metal processing (3 axis, 5 axis, 7 axis) OEM
    By 7AxisCNC in forum Manufacturer News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-05-2011, 02:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •