. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi folks,
    I am Marcus from Germany (Hamburg). I decided about 3 months ago that I need a milling machine. I am still quite new to the whole subject.
    Since then I have been reading and collecting ideas, but I still lack a lot of knowledge and experience. I have built a small CNC laser for "practice" to get familiar with the topic. But of course this is not comparable to a milling machine.
    After that worked out quite well, I would like to tackle my actual goal.

My goals:
    -I would like to build a milling machine to mill aluminum/steel parts for other projects (steel is secondary and probably not possible at first).
    -I would like to build a portal milling machine to mill large pieces of wood and to mill enclosure panels.
    -I haven't thought much about the accuracy yet. It should already give useful results, because I want to "improve" myself sometime and want to build a new milling machine with this one.
    -I would like a machining area of about 700 mm x 1000 mm +/- 100 mm.
    -My main goal is to learn about CNC machining and not to get more than 1500€ and still do something useful with the milling machine.

These are my options:
    1. i first build a MPCNC because i have most of the parts lying around anyway. The design and the performance of the milling machine keeps me from doing so. I don't think I would learn as much as I hope with the milling machine. I think I will not be happy with it. Because of the price the MPCNC is still not completely out of the game (for practice).