. .
    Hi,

After recently moving to the uk I found myself without availability to a proper machine shop for the first time in years. My garage is also quiet limited so I had to chose wisely on what machine to get. Finally settled on a Hobbymat md65 with milling head attachment that I picked up the other week.

I really like the machine so far and I’m now exploring options when it comes to either just putting DROs on it or potentially CNC converting it. I’m an engineer working most of my days in CAD so I’m not foreign to the CNC concept but have never owned/built a CNC machine myself before. Anyone converted one of these machines before? Find plenty of threads where people are looking to do so but none where it has actually been done. I guess like this one so far.

Is it a must to convert from lead screws to ball screws in a conversion? Any guidance on the strength of steppers needed?

I’ve found a few 3-axis kits avoiding 24v tb6560 as I’ve read many horror stories about them. What else should I be looking out for?
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/392747498521

Many thanks for your help :)

Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk

I'm probably talking balderdash here, but this is my view.

Firstly - I've no experience of this lathe or milling attachment, which makes this reply even less relevant. But I have CNC'd up a manual mill, and manual lathe.