. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hey Everyone,

Hopefully this is a relatively simple question.

Firstly, it may be important to know that I'm building a motion control video rig, not a CNC machine.

Inside my control box I'll have some drivers of very different sizes. As such, it was suggested to me to use circuit breaker / MCBs to ensure I protect the smaller drivers. My original plan was to have an IEC socket with a switch and fuse but now I need to figure out what MCBs to get. Apologies but I'm still quite new to this.

These are the larger drivers:

2 phase large driver 1 x DM2282T

3 phase large driver 1 x DM2283T

They have built in PSU's. I'll then have 4 smaller drivers:

4 x DM542T

They will be powered by this 350W 48V PSU

Two questions:

1) Power is coming to the control box from the mains and plugging into an IEC socket which has a fuse. Should I still use that fuse if I'm adding MCBs?
    2) What size MCBs do I need?

Thanks for any help.

Lives in Plymouth, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 2 Hours Ago Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 1,729. Received thanks 295 times, giving thanks to others 11 times.
    Simple question, but the answer's a bit more complicated...

First of all, fuses/MCBs are not really there to "protect" devices downstream. They might, under certain circumstances, but in general overcurrent devices like fuses are to protect against the risk of fire in the wiring when there is already a fault downstream of them. For example, motor wiring is shorted where it runs round a sharp corner; the driver (if it does not have effective overcurrent control) pops its output transistors, too much current drawn from the supply, wiring overheats - then fuse blows before it gets out of hand.

On the plus side, the PSU to which you have linked has built-in overcurrent/short circuit protection - it says. That might be enough to protect against any downstream faults of any significance.