. .
    Hi - I'm a designer with a small exhibition design company. We have been outsourcing our CNC needs for a few years and can see the benefits of bringing our production in-house. We are talking about cutting relatively small (all smaller than A3) flat panels for small products. I need to be able to profile cut dibond, hylite, High Impact Polystyrene and possible thin ply (sheet materials usually 3 to 6mm but maybe occasionally thicker ply). So I really only need a desktop machine. I'm looking at the BobsCNC Evolution 4. Does anyone have any experience with this machine? Pros? Cons? Thanks in advance for any help or advice. Cheers. Mac

Hi Mac,

I don't know or have experience with that particular machine but I do design and build routers so can see many issues with it.
    Now I don't want to start pulling it down but what I will say is that if you plan to use the machine for business use then this machine will only cause you stress and potential lost work.

To be honest most of the machines at this price point, ie Work bee, Shapeoko, etc are all better avoided if you are using them for business purposes as they are comprised of cheap components and weak flimsy designs. They are low-level hobby machines that are great for learning on but for anything serious they quickly show their weaknesses which can be disastrous and very costly for a business.

The problem with CNC is that while you may have low-level or small needs now they can and often do quickly grow when you start to realize what can be done with them and the old imagination kicks into top gear, which with my experience working with design type people often happens very quickly.