. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lives in nantwich, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 04-01-2021 Has been a member for 1-2 years. Has a total post count of 6.
    Hi, im Mike from Cheshire. Im new to cnc and haven't yet bought my first machine and I am looking for some advice in the first instance on what to get. I am a mechanical engineer so I would be happy to build a kit but I dont have tonnes of spare time to build from scratch as I have a new baby. Want to use the machine to cut plywood for making jigs, toys, crafts etc. I need a machine that has about 80mm of z travel so I can machine 3d forms in wood and looking for 2ft x 3ft working area ideally but that may not be possible. I want to spend between £500 - £1000.
    Be great to hear from you if you have any suggestions or threads I should read. I am new to forums in general so this is my first I have joined. Looking forward to chatting.
    Mike

Welcome, Mike.

Firstly - "you're new to forums in general" - there's a great bunch of guys here, but we can be a bit salty at times. Don't take anything too personally and understand that any advice offered (however it's presented) is likely to be founded on years of experience. Don't mistake unpalatable truths as an argument.

As I'm the first to reply, I'll offer the obvious reply - £500-£1000 isn't going to buy much. If you look at the Chinese machines on eBay and the like a 2ft x 3ft translates into a 6090 machine (the YYXX translates into YY axis size (cm), XX axis size (cm)). You can't find one of those new in your price range. To be honest, you wouldn't buy the bits new to build your own for your budget. I've used the word "new" twice, now, so I think you should be able to guess what's next - I'd keep an eye out for second hand machines. Even then you're going to struggle a bit within your budget.