. .
    Looking for advice, I have acquired a Cam Tech laser etcher with a 1400mm X 1200mm bed it's approximately 20yrs old. It has been in use but I would like to update it. Don't know much about these things,the software has been updated but I was wondering about the cost of updating drives, steppers, motors ect. Could someone point me in the right direction or list the components required. Sorry if I'm being a bit vague but as i've said I'm totally new to this. Many thanks Gary

Whats Your goal ?

Unless You have a goal, there is no possible way to procede intelligently.

Itīs unlikely, but possible you could get the old control sw to run faster/better with newer motion hw.
    This would mean new motors, aka ac servos, acting as better steppers ( or a new control board at 10x better but forgetting the old sw/hw totally).

It is possible, not difficult, to replace an old industrial control with a new one.
    The vast majority of refits are:
    -done on simple machines like wood routers
    -donīt use or implement industrial standards or safety protocols
    -not very well done in terms of io or safety or homing or lots of stuff

The so-called controller is a sw/hw package that determines what and how stuff runs.
    Linuxcnc with mesa cards,
    machx with cslabs hw or other hw,
    or chinese integrated sw/hw are 3 common different paths.
    Each has +/-.

To really re-build a commercial machine or equivalent requires lots of io, with some logic.
    This is very laborious, and somewhat expensive.
    Expect 2500$ in bits and parts, and at least 400 work hours, and at least 200 - 300 IOs.
    And 1000-3000$ in the controller, depending.

But...
    For 1000$ total lots of people have a home-brew kit running with a basic chinese controller.
    With limited homing, squaring, probing, offsets, etc. but it moves. Somewhat.

You asked about a "refit or commercial" and like 98% of people will probably think it is too expensive.
    Fine.