. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    As a total beginner to mill cnc conversion I have been doing a lot of research and whilst looking at the Mach 3 web page, http://www.machsupport.com/

I was a bit surprised to read the following under the "Mach 3 minimum requirements" heading:

"Laptops are not supported because the power saving features of the chipsets disrupt the pulse stream"

I was hoping to use a laptop with mach 3, is this possible?

I'm also looking at the Vectric software packages http://www.vectric.com/ as I'm interested in engraving,sign writing and photo machining. Does anyone use them and can you tell me if they are any good?

2. Quote Originally Posted by I need a dog View Post
    As a total beginner to mill cnc conversion I have been doing a lot of research and whilst looking at the Mach 3 web page, http://www.machsupport.com/

I was a bit surprised to read the following under the "Mach 3 minimum requirements" heading:

"Laptops are not supported because the power saving features of the chipsets disrupt the pulse stream"

I was hoping to use a laptop with mach 3, is this possible?

I'm also looking at the Vectric software packages http://www.vectric.com/ as I'm interested in engraving,sign writing and photo machining. Does anyone use them and can you tell me if they are any good?
    Like many things, there's what works and there's whats supported....

Several people use Mach3 on a laptop, but it may take some experimentation to get it to work reliably, and reliability when chucking bits of machinery around is what counts...

Thanks for reply, i have just typed "mach 3 laptop" into google and the results confirm your reply. Pretty much hit and miss. Although i have just read that there is a possible solution to many troublesome laptops running mach 3 which involves "disabling the acpi driver".
    Why can't everything in life be as simple as beans on toast.......