. .
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Hello to ALL on the forum...

I'm totally new to the world of CNC machines... spent the best part of 3 weeks watching and listening to various you tube clips on the subject and visiting various sites for cnc resellers... Set myself a budget of under £1000 for the purchase of a machine, but wanted something bigger than the 400mm x 180mm that seemed to be in the basic or hobbyist range.... I settled on an x carve... aware of its advantages and shortcomings... I then set about finding a machine for the price range I had set myself... I came to the conclusion either a 1000mm x carve or custom build a machine through buying parts... Online I found an x carve clone... all well sourced parts and after making an offer bought it for £775... it is now on its way...

Am prepared for setbacks, problems, a steep learning curve and at some stage some upgrades or modifications. One common upgrade seems to be stiffening of the x axis and both y axis...

I'm constructing my own worktable to mount it on.... got some good local steel suppliers and I have a drop saw that will cut light steel and a drill press... A track saw will help me cut the work surfaces to suitable sizes.

Hoping to learn lots on these pages.

Welcome to the forum Mike. You'll certainly find plenty of advice here!

It is a steep learning curve, but an interetsting journey. Have you decided on software for your design work yet? Plenty of options out there to choose from, Fusion 360, Vectric and CamBam to name a few.

Kit
    An optimist says the glass is half full, a pessimist says the glass is half empty, an engineer says you're using the wrong sized glass.

Hello Kit, Thanks for the friendly welcome... I've not made any decision on software yet.
    I'd like to create my own designs... or use downloadable files if it is something I want to do.