. .
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1
    Hi

    I have a cheap generic Chinese breakout board - like this https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/333905827471
    but it has no documentation and the listing is obscure.

    It has a pin marked 0-10V PWM output, which is good - my CNC spindle controller board wants a variable DC voltage to control the spindle speed. However, I'm not at all clear how that variable voltage is produced. I'm using LinuxCNC, and the setting for the parallel port is that pin 16 is PWM output. I presume that LinuxCNC produces a high frequency square wave on pin 16, but I can't get my head round how the BOB knows that pin 16 is the one that controls the voltage on the PWM output. If if does ...

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by jolyonjenkins View Post
    Hi

    I have a cheap generic Chinese breakout board - like this https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/333905827471
    but it has no documentation and the listing is obscure.

    It has a pin marked 0-10V PWM output, which is good - my CNC spindle controller board wants a variable DC voltage to control the spindle speed. However, I'm not at all clear how that variable voltage is produced. I'm using LinuxCNC, and the setting for the parallel port is that pin 16 is PWM output. I presume that LinuxCNC produces a high frequency square wave on pin 16, but I can't get my head round how the BOB knows that pin 16 is the one that controls the voltage on the PWM output. If if does ...
    For the bob you are using you will have to put 12-24V on the centre two terminals ( near the relay) in order to get the 0-10V out as well. It also need the 12-24v for the inputs to work

    I know this is not the same bob but it might give you a clue


    # SPINDLE S
    #*******************

    setp pid.s.Pgain [SPINDLE_9]P
    setp pid.s.Igain [SPINDLE_9]I
    setp pid.s.Dgain [SPINDLE_9]D
    setp pid.s.bias [SPINDLE_9]BIAS
    setp pid.s.FF0 [SPINDLE_9]FF0
    setp pid.s.FF1 [SPINDLE_9]FF1
    setp pid.s.FF2 [SPINDLE_9]FF2
    setp pid.s.deadband [SPINDLE_9]DEADBAND
    setp pid.s.maxoutput [SPINDLE_9]MAX_OUTPUT
    setp pid.s.error-previous-target true

    net spindle-index-enable <=> pid.s.index-enable
    net spindle-enable => pid.s.enable
    net spindle-vel-cmd-rpm => pid.s.command
    net spindle-vel-fb-rpm => pid.s.feedback
    net spindle-output <= pid.s.output

    # ---setup spindle control signals---

    net spindle-vel-cmd-rps <= motion.spindle-speed-out-rps
    net spindle-vel-cmd-rps-abs <= motion.spindle-speed-out-rps-abs
    #net spindle-vel-cmd-rpm <= motion.spindle-speed-out
    #net spindle-vel-cmd-rpm-abs <= motion.spindle-speed-out-abs
    net spindle-enable <= motion.spindle-on
    net spindle-cw <= motion.spindle-forward
    net spindle-ccw <= motion.spindle-reverse
    net spindle-brake <= motion.spindle-brake
    net spindle-revs => motion.spindle-revs
    net spindle-at-speed => motion.spindle-at-speed
    net spindle-vel-fb-rps => motion.spindle-speed-in
    net spindle-index-enable <=> motion.spindle-index-enable

    # ---Setup spindle at speed signals--- on bob relay pin DB 17

    setp hm2_7i92.0.gpio.024.is_output 1

    net spindle-enable hm2_7i92.0.gpio.024.out
    sets spindle-at-speed true

    #Below sets position of relay contacts on power up
    setp hm2_7i92.0.gpio.024.invert_output true

    #PWM Generator signal/setup

    setp hm2_7i92.0.pwmgen.pwm_frequency 1500

    setp hm2_7i92.0.pwmgen.00.output-type 1
    setp hm2_7i92.0.pwmgen.00.scale 5000
    setp hm2_7i92.0.pwmgen.00.enable true

    net spindle-speed motion.spindle-speed-out-abs hm2_7i92.0.pwmgen.00.value

    ############

    It might be easier to make another stepconf junk config then copy from that junk hal file the bits you need.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  3. #3
    Thanks.
    But I don't think I've explained my confusion.
    Assume the bob has the 12v in. There will be a variable DC voltage on the PWM pin. That voltage is controlled by the frequency of a signal on one of the pins, generated by linuxcnc. I can use stepconf to assign the pin that produces the signal. But how does the bob know which pin to expect the on?

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by jolyonjenkins View Post
    Thanks.
    But I don't think I've explained my confusion.
    Assume the bob has the 12v in. There will be a variable DC voltage on the PWM pin. That voltage is controlled by the frequency of a signal on one of the pins, generated by linuxcnc. I can use stepconf to assign the pin that produces the signal. But how does the bob know which pin to expect the on?
    You have to tell Lcnc which pin to send it to.

    Can you post the config

    #### Spindle stuff ###

    net spindle-cmd-rpm => pwmgen.0.value
    net spindle-on <= spindle.0.on => pwmgen.0.enable
    net spindle-pwm <= pwmgen.0.pwm
    setp pwmgen.0.pwm-freq 100
    setp pwmgen.0.scale 1000
    setp pwmgen.0.offset 0.1

    setp pwmgen.0.dither-pwm true

    net spindle-cmd-rpm <= spindle.0.speed-out
    net spindle-cmd-rpm-abs <= spindle.0.speed-out-abs
    net spindle-cmd-rps <= spindle.0.speed-out-rps
    net spindle-cmd-rps-abs <= spindle.0.speed-out-rps-abs
    net spindle-at-speed => spindle.0.at-speed
    net spindle-cw <= spindle.0.forward

    ### Parport Pins ###
    setp parport.0.pin-01-out-invert 1
    net spindle-pwm => parport.0.pin-01-out These are the pins on the bob
    net spindle-cw => parport.0.pin-14-out
    net spindle-on => parport.0.pin-17-out
    Last edited by Clive S; 23-04-2021 at 03:34 PM.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  5. #5
    But how do I know which pin to send it to? I'm assuming that the bob is looking for a signal on a particular pin, which is determined by the hardware of the board. I don't have a problem with configuing Linuxcnc, but I don't see how I know which pin the board wants. I feel I am either missing some concept or being very stupid.

  6. #6
    But how do I know which pin to send it to? I'm assuming that the bob is looking for a signal on a particular pin, which is determined by the hardware of the board. I don't have a problem with configuing Linuxcnc, but I don't see how I know which pin the board wants. I feel I am either missing some concept or being very stupid.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by jolyonjenkins View Post
    I feel I am either missing some concept or being very stupid.
    You are in the process of learning why cheap hardware is cheap and that some of what you are paying for with better, more expensive products is adequate documentation and support ;-)
    You think that's too expensive? You're not a Model Engineer are you? :D

  8. #8
    The BoB has a hard-wired interface from one of the discrete outputs (I have a similar board, that's silk-screened "P1 - PWM" - so pin 1 is assigned by hardware design to the PWM circuit. No configuration, no nothing (you could hack the card, of course). There's nothing clever, just assign the same output in LinuxCNC to the hardwired assignment on the board.

    Most BoBs are similar.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddy View Post
    The BoB has a hard-wired interface from one of the discrete outputs (I have a similar board, that's silk-screened "P1 - PWM" - so pin 1 is assigned by hardware design to the PWM circuit. No configuration, no nothing (you could hack the card, of course). There's nothing clever, just assign the same output in LinuxCNC to the hardwired assignment on the board.

    Most BoBs are similar.
    Thank you! That was the information I was after

  10. #10
    Hi
    One thing to watch out for: check that your inverter to control the spindle is isolated from the mains that is to say the the 0 to 10v input is not at mains potential.. this should described in you manual for the inverter...
    could be serious risk of electrical shock and the magic smoke will appear...

    Best regards
    Paul

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul H For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question on Servo power output.
    By Zadig in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24-08-2017, 01:13 PM
  2. Output voltage from mains driver?
    By JW1977 in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-03-2017, 01:33 PM
  3. Output direct to machine
    By picyman in forum Vectric
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-02-2014, 11:04 PM
  4. HPGL driver output
    By 2006Nobull in forum Computer Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-10-2012, 08:49 PM
  5. 2 Machines 1 Switch for the output - Connections
    By Ian Hart in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 02:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •