. .
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1
    My Mach3 5 axis controller board came today and although there was a lot of documentation supplied with it, there was not enough to setup the board properly.
    All the stepper motor settings are shown as 0 for all the steps pins and all the dir pins. I know that is not right, but how do I determine which are the correct settings? Can anyone help me with this?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	motor pins.jpg 
Views:	111 
Size:	314.1 KB 
ID:	30197
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5 axis USB Mach3.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	304.2 KB 
ID:	30198
    Board name is JDSW51B

  2. #2
    I don't know your board, but a Chinese NVEM controller specifies in the manual that the X/Y/Z/A/B/C ports are hard-coded in the driver and you don't need to specify them in Mach3 (defaults to port/pin 1/0). Try it and see.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-07-09 at 07.39.53.png 
Views:	67 
Size:	703.2 KB 
ID:	30199

  3. #3
    First google hit I found on that board number confirms the above.

    https://www.duxe.ru/upload/iblock/40...c4d2421927.pdf

  4. #4
    OK, thanks guys, I will cross my fingers and give t a try

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddy View Post
    I don't know your board, but a Chinese NVEM controller specifies in the manual that the X/Y/Z/A/B/C ports are hard-coded in the driver and you don't need to specify them in Mach3 (defaults to port/pin 1/0). Try it and see.
    Doddy, where are you getting that he's using an NVEM controller from.? That picture is of a standard BOB.!

    Regpye, this link is a better manual and may help, if you don't understand it just say so, and will talk you throw it.

    https://www.steppermotorcanada.ca/bl5breakoutboard.pdf
    -use common sense, if you lack it, there is no software to help that.

    Email: dean@jazzcnc.co.uk

    Web site: www.jazzcnc.co.uk

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  7. #6
    Thanks jazz, read page 5 of the link you provided, same as the link I provided from the Russian site to back off the analogy i first posted. My first post clearly started the info from the different card and was what I had to hand at the time.

    My recommendation remains, try it as is, the provided driver software hard codes the output mapping

  8. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddy View Post
    My recommendation remains, try it as is, the provided driver software hard codes the output mapping
    That's my point it's just a standard BOB, not a motion controller like the NVEM so the MOTOR OUTPUTS will need to be set up. Not having a pop just wondered how you thought it was a NVEM or motion controller.?

    A note for REGPYE: You will also need to apply 12-24V for the inputs and outputs to work, it basically power the optos. See Diagram on page 2, just above the inputs you have 12-24v connectors.
    -use common sense, if you lack it, there is no software to help that.

    Email: dean@jazzcnc.co.uk

    Web site: www.jazzcnc.co.uk

  9. #8
    Hi JAZZCNC
    Friday? Pub?
    Mach3 knows nothing about USB, so definitely the board is an motion controller.
    On the picture:
    http://www.mycncuk.com/attachment.ph...811440&thumb=1
    is clearly visible a micro controller (no matter which type but looks as some STM32Fxxxx).
    So, motion controller with BOB :)

  10. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by ZASto View Post
    Hi JAZZCNC
    Friday? Pub?
    Mach3 knows nothing about USB, so definitely the board is an motion controller.
    On the picture:
    http://www.mycncuk.com/attachment.ph...811440&thumb=1
    is clearly visible a micro controller (no matter which type but looks as some STM32Fxxxx).
    So, motion controller with BOB :)
    Hi ZASto, No not the pub but I am not myself today, poorly sick and dying from food poisoning, ate some dodgy fish I think..

    To be honest I didn't look that close to see it only had USB and no PP. I don't use BOB's these days and most I've seen like this have a USB port so just assumed it was standard BOB,!! , , , , You know that they say about assumptions being the mother of all FKUP's ...
    -use common sense, if you lack it, there is no software to help that.

    Email: dean@jazzcnc.co.uk

    Web site: www.jazzcnc.co.uk

  11. #10
    Thanks Jazz, that manual has a bit more info than mine.

    I will test out the system later today when I get dressed, it is 5am here in Australia and cold too.
    The project I am working on is a plasma cutter that has a standalone THC with a DC motor, so I only need to use X and Y axis with Mach3.
    Because the table is wide, I will be using two stepper motors and will need to slave Y and A together. I might have some homing and limit issues to deal with later.
    I have already changed the Ref All Home button to allow homing of only the X and Y
    DoButton( 22)
    RefCombination( 10 )
    I guess I will find out if it works for real later, it works on the screen OK.
    The THC has a DC motor and is fully automatic, but I will still need to lift and lower when setting a job up, so I will use real push buttons to do that. There are not enough inputs and outputs available on this board to allow some keyboard macros to control a couple of extra relays needed for that part (unless it is possible to reassign some unused pins maybe?)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Please help - missing steps ... Mach3
    By emilvv in forum Artsoft Mach (3 & 4)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 23-12-2019, 08:31 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-09-2019, 11:54 PM
  3. switches settings in mach3
    By Palletlad in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-09-2019, 05:40 PM
  4. Mach3 turn screen missing items / incomplete?
    By mondrota in forum Artsoft Mach (3 & 4)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-02-2018, 06:30 PM
  5. Help withController dip switch settings and Mach3 motor tuning
    By liamo1991 in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-11-2013, 02:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •