. .
    All,

I apologise if this thread is in the wrong place and I if I don't use some of the correct terminology as I am self taught.

A year ago I bought a used Axyz CNC 4008. It had been converted to use MACH3 several owners before and it seems a reasonable installation and setup etc. I have been happily using the machine and teaching myself Vcarve/Mach3 and slowly correcting previous owners errors (eg, all limit switches, and home switches turned off).

On Friday I went to use the machine and I can get zero response from the X, Y and Z motors. Spindle spins up as normal. Mach 3 is working fine I think. The LEDS on the breakout board are on. It has power!! When jogging the motors the breakout board lights up and when the gantry is physically pushed Mach 3 registers the limit switches being activated. The individual axis motor supplies (I don't know the components name) of which there are four have two LEDS on them. These are not illuminated at any point.

It is almost as if the motor power supplies are not getting power but the machine has power everywhere else. I am sure this is a power distribution issue or maybe even a fuse/breaker gone somewhere.

Has anyone got any ideas?

Kind Regards

HF

I think your last paragraph sums it up! The symptoms suggest a loss of power to the stepper drivers, which would be where I start looking. Check output voltage on stepper power supply?

I have had a similar problem on my own (home-built) machine which I tracked down to a previously-unseen fuse on the PSU board. On replacing it, I found that the real problem was an internal short in the toroidal transformer.