. .
    Hello

I'm 9 days away from purchasing my first CNC at near £2k. Workbee CNC Router. The biggest one they do at 1500x1500. I wouldlike to plan projects, see them before I build them I have little to no experience with woodwork projects and have spent many hours down the rabbit hole of Youtube woodwork channels.

What is the best software for planning woodwork projects?
    I see sketchup and fusion 360 are up there however I'm not a fan of "web based apps" or expensive monthly costs.

What do you experienced planners use? I'm not new to 3D modelling however I would like something that would provide a way to visualize what it is I want to build. Showing measurements, Joints and more.

Thanks in Advance!

Some people get good results from FreeCAD, I use Rhino7 myself.
    For CAM software I recommend CamBam, have a look at the forum too. There are loads of plugins to extend it's functionality with new ones being written all the time.

https://www.rhino3d.com
    https://www.freecadweb.org/features.php
    https://cambam.info/
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

Fusion 360 is free for personal use, does cad and cam all fully intergrated, I can't see why you would want anything else. There's thousands of tutorials and examples on youtube

Lives in Derbyshire  UK, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 18 Hours Ago Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 295. Received thanks 28 times, giving thanks to others 13 times.
    "What is the best software for planning woodwork projects?"

Vectric Vcarve-pro or Aspire but you have one off cost to buy them but they are very very good, download a trial you will see for yourself.

Phill