Hi everyone!

I'm new to the forum - joined in the hope of getting some advice on the correct setup of the CNC machine I have recently started to use at my job.

First, a little background... but please feel free to skip to the question below if you start nodding off!

I'm a graphic designer, signmaker and installer based in Kent. I've been working in the sign trade for almost 17 years. I'm very comfortable with the software side of things, and I've got a decent amount of experience with wide-format printers, flatbed printers and cutters, plotters, 3D printers etc. I'd like to think I have a pretty logical, common-sense approach to anything that's new to me, too. I enjoy the challenge of working out a new tool or machine, and I'm always looking to find ways to work smarter.

I began my current role around 18 months ago, joining a mid-sized family-run business as their new workshop manager. Since then, our production team has grown and I have focused a lot on streamlining our manufacturing and making better use of the tools and machinery that we have available. One such machine is a Chinese-made 10ft x 5ft CNC router (Unfortunately, I can see no manufacturer name or model number. although the handheld controller is a Weihong NK105 G2).

Currently, we have a couple of members of staff with some basic knowledge (trial and error solutions to accomplish simple tasks) but I'm hoping that with some help, I can learn this machine inside-out, and get it properly set up. I would love to be able to move a decent amount of our manual and sometimes inaccurate manufacturing over to this machine.