1. #1
    hi :wave:
    i am new
    i work in engineering doing milling surface grinding and fitting
    when i am milling i use a xyz milling machine with PROTOTRAK sotfware controling 2 axis X and Y .this software uses no G or M codes you just put in the amounts you want
    eg x 25 .40 y50.00- press go it it will go to that position
    is anyone using this software on home built machines

  2. Quote Originally Posted by GERALD View Post
    hi :wave:
    i am new
    i work in engineering doing milling surface grinding and fitting
    when i am milling i use a xyz milling machine with PROTOTRAK sotfware controling 2 axis X and Y .this software uses no G or M codes you just put in the amounts you want
    eg x 25 .40 y50.00- press go it it will go to that position
    is anyone using this software on home built machines
    Prototrak is a proprietary software & hardware package for Southern Industries machines and they also do retrofit packages for some common toolshop makes but not it seems, for the common hobby machines. There is a software only version to run on a PC to create Prototrak programs offline in MX2 files which can then be uploaded to Prototrak controllers. Although it doesnt say so I suspect the underlying intermediate file is g-code of some form (if you have access to an MX2 file it would be interesting to inspect its contents).

    So when you type something on the keyboard on a ProtoTrak machine the commands it sends to the underlying machine controller are probably not dissimilar to G-Code in a machine readable form.

    Given they want to charge $$$ for their sofware I doubt there is anyone using it on a hobby machine (but never say never!)


    [edit]In the support documentation there is a little docmented facility "G-Code Editor (VM only)", so I suspect I was right in the underlying transfer from programming module to motor controller being G-code based[/edit]
    Last edited by irving2008; 31-12-2009 at 07:00 PM.

  3. #3
    Hi
    Firstly let me say I'm a newbie on this site (found it by accident actually, looked useful, and I signed up!)

    ProtoTrak software: I have used this on industrial machines (KRV 3000/PRO3000 milling machines with ProtoTrak MX2 control), and as stated, it simply requires co-ordinate positions entered. Don't know of any retrofits (or otherwise) on hobby machines - I think the cost is probably prohibitive.

    The system is designed for prototyping / low volume (easily programmed), and I think (I may be wrong) the underlying system is based on Fanuc controls (shall attempt to find a link).

    *Apologies for dredging up an old thread*

Similar Threads

  1. FOR SALE: XYZ PRO 3000 with Prototrak MX2 controls
    By FarrerDesign in forum Items For Sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-06-2013, 11:47 AM
  2. prototrak mx2 cam software?
    By FarrerDesign in forum Marketplace Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-02-2013, 06:06 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2012, 12:58 PM
  4. Which Software
    By manofgresley in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-12-2011, 04:08 PM
  5. New Software
    By luke11cnc in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-09-2011, 06:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •