. .

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Hi guys i have a encoder that has 3 channels A B N got it cheap of eBay
    but my driver only uses A B would it work fine if i just left N not connected ??
    dont know that much about encoders muddled through in the past
    would just try it but i dont have my driver here at moment

cheers

Its probably an Index... 1 count per 360 revolution... If your driver doesn't have it, it won't matter if you don't hook it up. I'm no expert btw... just an opinion.

Dave.

3. Just connect the A and B, As said, the N is most likley the index, and your driver doesn't need it.

Lives in Devon, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 2 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 759. Received thanks 27 times, giving thanks to others 52 times.
    Bit late........ but if you are using a home switch you can "and" the N channel and the switch to get a very accurate and repeatable home position control.