. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    What type of bearings are best suited for a spindle, is it better with a thrust bearing or like angular contact type?
    I want to use a key less 10mm chuck and I think the thread is 3/8 unf in it so 3/8 shaft size would be good.

Thanks Shaun

Hi Shaun,

I hope I'm understanding your intention. I'm no spindle expert, but a thrust bearing will only allow you to drill holes because it cannot take side loads. Therefore a pair of angular contact bearings sounds better. A spindle often runs at high speed, and therefore you might also want to consider the ceramic type of bearing.

Bit more detail about what you want to machine might help others with a spec for you.

Thanks
    Building a CNC machine to make a better one since 2010 . . .
    MK1 (1st photo), MK2, MK3, MK4

Hi Thanks for the reply, I have found a couple of roller type thrust bearings in a rummage through a box of old bearings I got from my Dad...I was going to use a couple of ball races and a thrust bearing.
    I don't need anything too robust as I'm only going to be cutting depron and balsa / liteply at first, but was worried about the speed...My thoughts were like a model aircraft engine is reported at XX BHP at like 17,000 revs ( although I have never measured or seen one at this speed ) now these are just ball races and have temp and nitro working against them?? It would be good to continue the 22mm OD theme of the skate bearings but the shaft on them is only 8mm
    Just noticed your Avatar - Is it your own design? Are you going to green acres fly in this weekend, thats in your neck of the woods ?
    Last edited by 8iggles; 23-06-2010 at 06:11 PM.

Lives in Devon, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 2 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 759. Received thanks 27 times, giving thanks to others 52 times.