. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi,

I decided to follow the build at www.automatedwoodworks.com but change the length of the machine to easily cut 8x4 sheets. I currently cut 15mm plastic sheets using guides and a dewalt 625ek router. I drill lots of holes in each sheet too so im hoping I can eliminate lots of hand work by using this machine.

Originally I was unsure about using timing belts over this distance but after speaking to cross & morse I am happy that by using PU belts and introducing an idler in the centre of the X belt this should work fine.

I have had 2 tables fabricated to enable me to build the machine at home. This will allow me to get the gantry up and running and then allow me to extend the machine once everything is working satisfactory.

As my previous posts indicate, I have no experience in the cnc industry. I have lots of experience using routers by hand but zero using cnc. I have taken the advice from other members and changed the original gantry design as there were indications that the channel alone may twist. The addition of the 100x50 aluminium hollow section has hopefully eliminated the possibility of any twist, it definately has added rigidity that's clear to feel when handling it.

I have decided to use HIWIN rails for the Y&Z which will be with me tomorrow. I have tested the bearings on the 6.35mm bright bar and have to say I am extremely happy with them. There is no play whatsoever in the rails and they run smoothly with zero resistance. Unfortunately they are not my first choice but I had to cut costs somewhere. I will purchase the linear rails if I feel the current setup is causing any problems.