. .

Thread: Clocking

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lives in Hull, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 28-04-2016 Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 72.
    I think most will pass this one over but please don't.
    I am really new to all this and have heard this many time but I just do not know really what it means. No I 'm not taking the mick I am that new to this cnc stuff.
    if there is a ref to this please point me to it and I will read it I am getting back into learning and really enjoying life again and this is a great place to get help I was told by the chap I got my machines from.

Sorry ... not a phrase I am familiar with. Unless it refers to using a DTI to 'clock' tolerances or distances. I do remember an instructor telling me to 'clock' the backlash of a mechanical joint to ensure it was within a given range. Hope that helps (but I am probably wrong).
    Tim G-C

“I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.”

(attrib. Voltaire but written by Evelyn Beatrice Hall "The Friends of Voltaire" 1906)

Lives in Hull, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 28-04-2016 Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 72.
    No I think you are on the same page as me.
    I only used the term as thats what the chap called it when he set up a job in a milling machine.
    I think it is the same as making sure the job is flat or as needed when starting a job or getting the lathe part right in the jaws.
    It's this process that I am looking for a how to and tips on and also what dials etc or gauges you need or what is recomended.
    As I said this is a whole new thing to me and just want to learn whats what

Lives in Cardiff, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 25-10-2022 Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 699. Received thanks 29 times, giving thanks to others 1 times.