. .

Thread: Usbcnc

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Hi all,
    I was wondering if anyone has any experience on USBCNC and the CPU4 controller pcb?
    I will be using this kit for my machine build and was looking for some tips.

Regards

Ian

2. Hi Ian, USBCNC is fantastic. i have been using it for about 6 months now and not a single problem with it, its super stable over ethernet thats what i would recommend doing if you have the CPU4 with ethernet! also if you have any problems or questions just e-mail bert who designed, built and wrote the software.

Also the software is just as easy to customise as Mach 3 in my opinion its a lot better then mach!

Thats my 2p worth

Ad

Ad,
    I am going to be using the CPU4 card with USB connection. If you are using the CPU4 card how did you wire your limit switches?

Ian

4. Hi Ian, Im using a CPU5A4E card but the CPU4 will be much the same when it comes to wiring up the switches.

If you have looked at the CPU4 diagram http://www.edingcnc.com/upload/files...flyer_tech.pdf you will see the home connector, this it easy to wire up. looking at the pin out table in the link you will see pin 1 = X home 2 = A home 3 = Y home 4 = B home 5 = Z home 6 = GND Pin 7 is if you have supplied an external 5v supply to the card (ignore of you have not) 8 = GND 9 = 5v USB (if you are powering the card from the USB port.

So if you were wiring the card up in a normal case suituation then you would ideally be using a NC switch, you would run a wire from pin 1 ( x home) to your switch, from the switch back to ither pin 6 or pin 8 (GND) the same goes for the other axis.

Thats about it matey ;)

Simples!