. .
    Hello all, join this forum as i would like to start building a cnc machine, obviously who better to ask than the people who have gone through it lol.

I am an apprentice engineer, well just finishing, and can do most things machanically minded, electronics are my downfall, although i do know some basics, so i will be asking for help on that matter lol.

Firstly, looking to be able to machine A3 size, plans have been drawn and started to be made, also its going to be running 16x5mm ballscrews, and the electronics i have sourced come with 3.1nm steppers, so can any one tell me if these are strong enough or are they going to need gearing, or just change my electronics totally.

Sorry for the big ask on first questions lol

Quote Originally Posted by totts View Post
    Hello all, join this forum as i would like to start building a cnc machine, obviously who better to ask than the people who have gone through it lol.

I am an apprentice engineer, well just finishing, and can do most things machanically minded, electronics are my downfall, although i do know some basics, so i will be asking for help on that matter lol.

Firstly, looking to be able to machine A3 size, plans have been drawn and started to be made, also its going to be running 16x5mm ballscrews, and the electronics i have sourced come with 3.1nm steppers, so can any one tell me if these are strong enough or are they going to need gearing, or just change my electronics totally.

Sorry for the big ask on first questions lol
    Hi there welcome to the forum, what would you like to do with this A3 size machine you are going to build, IE what do you intend to produce with it? what sort of materials would you be using for your projects.. Give us a little bit of info and im sure the answers you require will come your way :)
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln