. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hey Guys

I have been researching cnc machines for about 2 years now. Last year I took the plunge and built a MDF Router with Ali angles, skate bearings and threaded rod leadscrews.

The plan was to build the machine and learn about the process without spending too much money, over the past year I have spent most of my time upgrading and tweeking it.

I had always planned to make a better machine as my knowledge improves.

After making new parts for itself for the last few months I have reached the point where i want to start from scratch. I feel I now have the confidence to go out and spend some money and get some decent linears and ballscrews to make something more beefy and accurate.

So I have been mocking up some ideas etc and looking at alot of the other build logs and I really liked the design of Pavlo's Steel Framed machine, so much so that the design I have pretty much settled on is just a scaled up version of it.

There are a few reasons this design appealed to me:
    It seems like it is strong.
    Steel is pretty cheap
    I have access to a mig welder
    My current machine is not up to cuttilng Ali so fancy Ali Gantry sides and Z Axis are out. All the Ali pieces are all rectangular so Im hoping that I can order them in to size and only be left with the drilling.

Here are some pics of what I have come up with so far.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MetalRouter.JPG 
Views:	667 
Size:	474.3 KB 
ID:	4357
    X Rails are 1500mm 20dia supported. Y is 800mm 16dia supported. Z is 300mm 16dia supported.

Name:	Frame.JPG 
Views:	871 
Size:	450.3 KB 
ID:	4359
    Outer section is 100x50 Steel Box. Bed supports are 40x40. 20mm x 5mm pitch ballscrew will be in the center of the frame.

Name:	Gantry.JPG 
Views:	846 
Size:	342.4 KB 
ID:	4360
    Gantry is 50x50 Steel box. The strut at the bottom with the ballnut is some more of the 100x50. 16mm x 5mm pitch Y Ballscrew will run between the 2 horizontal 50x50 Y Rail supports.