Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1
    Hi All a different question from me this time, I currently use Mach3 & Vcarve Pro as my main CNC Mill software Combination, Now what would you suggest for my CNC lathe to go with Mach3....

    I would like something as intuitive as Vcarve if at all possible...:confused:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Changer Cylinder v2.jpg 
Views:	535 
Size:	90.2 KB 
ID:	4383


    This will be the first major project but as you can see it is only a concept drawing at the moment.:idea:

    I will of course be doing some simple stuff first to get used to the software you help me choose...:naughty:


    So the question is if you use Mach3 on your lathe what software do you use with it..


    Rick
    Last edited by Ricardoco; 27-08-2011 at 02:59 PM. Reason: Im An Idiot!
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

  2. #2
    The only software I have used for CNC turning is notepad, but then I've only done it a couple of times - this is one:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4wGDMSiZpyg

    What is the part you've drawn for? It looks simple enough to do an a manual lathe...

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan View Post
    What is the part you've drawn for? It looks simple enough to do an a manual lathe...
    It is a simple air ram for my ATC but the main body needs to be repeatable to a resonable level of accuracy. Its a Stacking design

    the more pressure you require the more cylinders and pistons you bolt on..
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

  4. #4
    I see, that explains a lot.
    Clearly it depends how many you need to make - there's no reason for it not to be precise on a manual lathe...just obviously takes a bit longer.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan View Post
    I see, that explains a lot.
    Clearly it depends how many you need to make - there's no reason for it not to be precise on a manual lathe...just obviously takes a bit longer.
    I think i could make 1 no problems but a few of my friends have seen my ATC plans and they all want one so i just dont have the time to stand there pushing them out..
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricardoco View Post
    I think i could make 1 no problems but a few of my friends have seen my ATC plans and they all want one so i just dont have the time to stand there pushing them out..
    Thats Given me an idea....

    Ok is there a way of recording me making the first piece and then switching it over to auto repeat.

    C'Mon where is all the knowlege im used to seeing on this site...
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

  7. #7
    Second screen on Mach, the MDI screen.
    Press Teach then do all your commands using the MDI input, when finished press Stop Teach.

    Then go to C:\Mach3\Gcode and there will be a file called Teach.tap Rename this file to waht you want as next time you use teach it will over write it, it always calls the file teach.tap.

    That's it but you may have to do a couple of tries to get used to Teach, remember that it remembers accurately what you are doing, if you forget to start the spindle on the first try it will not start the spindle when you run the file !
    John S -

  8. #8
    If you're going to do it with the MDI screen you might as well just write the Gcode in notepad to start with. I think that's a safer option as you'll notice on the toolpath display if it's going to hit the chuck or something...
    It's all straight lines so should be straightforward. Advantage of doing it yourself is you can do the most efficient toolpath.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan View Post
    If you're going to do it with the MDI screen you might as well just write the Gcode in notepad to start with. I think that's a safer option as you'll notice on the toolpath display if it's going to hit the chuck or something...
    It's all straight lines so should be straightforward. Advantage of doing it yourself is you can do the most efficient toolpath.
    It like anything else really, G-Code is not as easy for me as it is you, the thought of doing the code in notepad gives me nightmares!!!:surprised::surprised::surprised::sur prised:

    As for using the MDI input, that dosnt fill me with relish either. on this way of doing things you guys are way ahead of me for sure.

    I guess its back to a software solution then but which one....
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

  10. #10
    About the only decent lathe program I have seen is Dolphin.

    Many software writers treat lathe as a two axis mill when in fact it isn't, believe it or not lathe is far harder.
    On a mill the cutting tip of a cutter is on the corner and can be mapped very accurately. On a lathe the cutting edge is inside the theoretical corner to take into account the tool nose radius and as you work round a radius on the work this point is constantly changing.

    On most jobs that are just 'shapes' this doesn't matter but a good software must take this into account, most don't.

    This is an interesting read.

    http://www.cnccookbook.com/CCCNCGCod...MForLathes.htm
    John S -

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to John S For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. software
    By rainboweyes in forum Computer Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2013, 11:59 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2012, 12:58 PM
  3. New Software
    By luke11cnc in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-09-2011, 06:00 PM
  4. What software can do this ?
    By Kammo1 in forum Computer Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 07:57 PM
  5. What software ??
    By Kammo1 in forum Computer Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-09-2007, 01:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •