. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi all,
    I have 6 years experience using CNC and manual machines and am looking to start my own precision engineering sub-contracting company and eventually produces my own product. I will be working on my own to start with.

I have a workshop sorted the size of a double garage complete with 3 phase and roller door.

I have formulated a list of local competitors and customers with a plan to send a package including covering letter, pamphlet, and a machined sample of something useful with my company name (e.g pen pot). I also have a contact to do a decent website.

I have allowed £13,000 to start up a used plant list:
    Manual mill = 3000
    Manual lathe = 2000
    Pedestal drill = 300
    Tapping machine = 350
    Linisher = 150
    Bandsaw = 130
    Surface Table = 50
    Bench grinder = 150
    Misc. tools = 200
    Compressor = 700
    Enco mini CNC mill = 1500
    CNC turret mill = 4500

I will be doing this on the side whilst doing my current job in order to build up a big enough customer base before going full time.

Does anyone have any advice on things I have missed please?
    Thanks

Cold cut chop saw maybe for cutting up some stock before machining. You would also need a good selection of drill/taps, dies and cutting tools/tips for your machines.
    Also have you allowed cash for a basic stock of materials? What about CAD and a pc? Are you going to do any CAD work before machining or are you going to program everything of the machines?

Ian

Formulate all of the above into a business plan, you can download these off the net. Take your figures then double it, give yourself targets to be done by.
    If the nagging gets really bad......Get a bigger shed:naughty:

Ok, thanks guys. I'll be doing manual programming to begin but hopefully as my customer base grows and I can leave my full time job I'll go for a Haas Super Mini Mill 2 with OneCNC CAD/CAM. I'll download the business plan template too. Thanks again!