. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi everyone this is my first post and I'm very excited about discovering this world of CNC routing. I'm a carpenter by profession and have moved into the world of cabinet making over the last few years making mostly MDF wardrobes and units but also on occasion veneered and solid wood furniture. I have most of the usual hand and power tools that you would expect and couldn't live without my routers but I now feel that I'm at a bit of a crossroads about expansion, such as should I train up a helper and /or make a big investment in machinery. As you probably know accuracy is all important in this job and a CNC router would seem to tick all the right boxes in that respect and I wouldn't be so dependent on finding a helper that needs to be consistently accurate. I only really started investigating CNC a few weeks ago and what I would like to know is do you need to have very good computer skills for the design and programming and if someone could suggest a good general book on the subject. Your answers would be much appreciated. Thanks

Hi and welcome.
    CNC would be a good way to go for cabinet making and not just for the accuracy side of things. You could also incorporate some nice designs on say drawer fronts or doors or sometimes something as simple as a groove running all the way round a drawer or door front makes all the difference and its dead easy with a cnc router.