1. #1
    I'm using Mach3 and i'm trying to tune the motors. Can some one explain in simple terms the way to do this please. I'm lost with micro stepping etc.

    I'm using the following-

    3 X Stepper motors (M60STH88-3008DF)
    3 X Microstepping Drives - (MSD542)

    2 x screws-m12 x 1.75mm
    1 x screw - m16 x 2mm

    On the drives the microsteps pins are set to
    8 -microsteps/full steps
    1600 -microsteps/rev

    should i set the microsteps differently

    Thanks
    Dean
    Last edited by deannos; 05-12-2011 at 11:49 AM.

  2. #2
    Easy, --total number of step / pitch

    In you case for the 16 x 2 axis that 1600 / 2 so set to 800

    For the 12 x 1.75 that's 1600 / 1.75 so set to 914.2857
    John S -

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to John S For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Though it is good to use the microstepping value you have chosen for smooth running it may limit your feedrate if the kernel frequency in Mach3 cannot be set high enough. In which case lower the microstep resolution. For instance with the 2mm pitch screw and Mach3 on the standard 25kHz with 1600step/rev you get 25000/1600*2*60=1875mm/min maximum.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Jonathan For This Useful Post:


  6. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by John S View Post
    Easy, --total number of step / pitch

    In you case for the 16 x 2 axis that 1600 / 2 so set to 800

    For the 12 x 1.75 that's 1600 / 1.75 so set to 914.2857

    well that is easy, next question, should the cutter now travel the correct distance as in the gcode. If not how do you set that please

  7. #5
    Yes it is easy!

    It should travel the correct distance (but not necessarily the correct direction) as long as there is not some descrepincy in the units (metric/imperial). Try jogging it to somewhere away from the ends of travel (so you don't accidently hit them), zero X and Y and in the MDI tab type (for example) G0 X100 Y100 and see if it does actually move 100mm in both directions. If it looks about right it probably is...

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Jonathan For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. Mach 3 using laptop and usb
    By drftnr34 in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-07-2015, 04:38 PM
  2. NCStudio or Mach 3 or something else?
    By Fivetide in forum Machine Control Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-09-2012, 05:41 PM
  3. mach 3 help
    By 1albobs in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-02-2012, 03:34 PM
  4. Does Mach 3 run ok on laptops?
    By I need a dog in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-12-2009, 11:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •