. .
Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast
    Hi guys. This is my first attempt at building anything like this myself. I have a history in motorcycles for 45 years and used to be a mech eng designer. Its a bit diferant without a full blown workshop doing your bidding. This project has a limitation on funds but I will not skimp if possible.

As it is the first I have decided to make a torsion box base. If this all works then I can upgade to a metal frame later. I also thought that linear rail bearings would be better than bearings on angles.

I realise that regidity is essential so the y gantry has been constructed from 10mm Ally. Although it came cheap the angle was not exactly 90deg . Bit of patience and it appears to be fairly accurate. When the rails arrive for it the will be measured off the x rails to locate. If it ends up being too heavy then I can cut sections out to lighten the load. It rolls well but inertia maybe a problem.

I have ordered ballscrew, 2 for the x and 1 for the y. My next decision is stepper size (3nm maybe) and whether to build or buy the z.

Comments are always welcome. Already had great advice on spindle choice.

Bruce
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010336.JPG 
Views:	599 
Size:	211.5 KB 
ID:	5160   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010337.JPG 
Views:	688 
Size:	253.9 KB 
ID:	5161   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010338.JPG 
Views:	760 
Size:	255.6 KB 
ID:	5162   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010339.JPG 
Views:	699 
Size:	273.4 KB 
ID:	5163   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010340.JPG 
Views:	688 
Size:	257.8 KB 
ID:	5164  

I too started with my X-axis rails mounted to a torsion box made from MDF/pine with a gap left either side to hide the 2 leadscrews. I'm still using the torsion box as the machine bed. Making the steel frame for mine made a huge difference. What size are your X-axis rails, they look like only SBR16 or 20mm?