. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi everyone, I'm a time served precision mechanical engineer with 11 years of engineering experience. I'm doing a night college course at the moment and was looking for a new project for when I'm finished. I stumbled upon a very interesting vid on you tube. It was a cnc router constructed from MDF, I found this machine amazing! I was instantly hooked and wanted to build one.

I started to do a bit of re-search and came across this forum. I'm ok with the mechanical design and build part of the machine. However I have no electronics experience so I've got no idea about motors, controllers or drivers. Also have no idea about the computer software that is required to run such a machine. I've used drawing packages such as auto cad and solidworks. Do u need to do a drawing on any of these and then import it to another type of software to allow the cnc to cut it?

I would be gratefull for any advice on electronics and software.

Thank you Rob.

Hi Rob and welcome.

Regards software it basicly goes like this. Parts are drawn in CAD then brought into CAM software which produces a file that gets loaded into the control software which drives the CNC machine.
    CAM is where you define cutting stratagies called toolpaths, the paths are defined from your Cad drawing or model.
    There are different stratagies depending on operation to be carried out IE: Profileing toolpaths, drilling, pocketing, roughing paths for quick stock removal, finishing paths etc. There are basicly 2 types of machineing 2D & 3D each with there own set of cutting stratagies(toolpaths) thou often you'll see 2.5D mentioned which is essentially multi level 2D using just 2 axis simultanously true 3D use's 3 or more Axis at same time.