Thread: mach 3 help

  1. #1
    Hi all,can any one help please, i have just purchased a router machine running mach3. I can get the mach3 program to run my g code ok but have no movement from the motors on x,y,z axis can anyone give me some tips .:confused:thanks in advance.p.s i am new to the world of machining so please bare with me.

  2. #2
    Just not enough information.
    What router, has the ports and pins been setup ? we need more info.
    John S -

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to John S For This Useful Post:

  4. #3
    Hi. I bought a secondhand, hand-built CNC router machine not so long ago, with the view to starting up my own small business. I am a complete novice to CNC but I thought I would be able to learn it easily enough(how wrong I was!!!!). Now desperately looking for help setting it up(I am in Lincolnshire...postcode is LN9 5ND) as I am out of work now and have a family to support. I would be really grateful if anyone can help via this thread or if living close to me, would pop by and help me out???

    It is a fixed gantry CNC machine
    Overall dimensions
    Wide 800mm, deep 900mm, height 1450mm
    Cuts approx 500mm x 400mm
    Components are:-
    Nema23 keling motors on all axis
    Controller gecko G540
    Running Mach3 program

    This is all the info I have.

    Kind Regards,

  5. #4
    As a newbie myself couple of things that have puzzled me to start with..

    Did you get a P.C. with Mach3 running on it , or just a disc with Mach3?

    If your installing Mach3 , need to make sure the parallel port is enabled from the bios on the P.C. your using. Older P.C.s can have had the parallel port switched off when they got a usb printer, took a while for me to spot that one...

    E-Stop is on when Mach3 starts, the twinkling reset button bottom left.

    Its a bit of a learning curve but one that definitely rewards the effort :-)


Similar Threads

  1. Mach Turn
    By Kai in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-2016, 01:40 PM
  2. Mach 3 using laptop and usb
    By drftnr34 in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-07-2015, 03:38 PM
  3. RFQ: Triac / Mach 3 help
    By suesi34e in forum Projects, Jobs & Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-08-2013, 12:59 PM
  4. MACH 3 requirements
    By manofgresley in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-04-2013, 01:33 PM
  5. NCStudio or Mach 3 or something else?
    By Fivetide in forum Machine Control Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-09-2012, 04:41 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts