. .
    Hi All,

Been lurking here for a while now, I think it maybe time, within the next 2-3 months to build my own CNC! I have had limited contact with CNC machines so not a complete noob! I am really after some help with a build from those who know! I have got a very good friend who can cut all the aluminium parts I need hopefully.

Firstly I will want to cut mainly aluminium, wood, plastic and foam. I was thinking that a X 500 x Y 500 x Z 250mm but depends on costs. I was looking at using a water-cooled 2.2 or 3kw spindle and vfd. I would like to have fairly high accuracy and use aluminium profile to construct where possible as i have access to misumi.

I need some help with what parts i need, so need to construct a shopping list.

Is there anyone who would be able to mockup a solid works model with my work considered?

Anything else I have overlooked? I massively appreciate any help and hopefully can pass on the knowledge I learn now to others here in the future.

Kyle

I'll help anyway I can.
    First regards Machine design and materials.!! The materials you want to cut and the travels on the Z axis conflict slightly.?
    Aluminuium needs a really strong Z axis with miniumum flex, Often this achieved with short as possible Z axis. When cutting Ali it's usually thinner material so short travel it's not a problem.

Wood,plastics etc you often need travel due to larger materials so large Z travel and because softer materials can get away with longer Z axis.
    So Basicly your in conflict and what you wanting is to have your cake and eat it.!!!! . . . . . . WELL YOU CAN. .:dance:. . . . You just have to design in a way to do it.?

Either build a massively over engineered Z axis (Not practicle or cheap) or build a moving bed that lifts to the material to the cutter.!!. . . .This is how I do it and it works great.