. .
    Lives in Taunton, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 22-05-2013 Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 11.
    Hi

I'm Doc, a complete CNC newbie.

I am an engineering technician for a large worldwide company.

I have a Wabeco CCF1410LF which I want to learn to use but I have no idea where to start. I find the program it comes with is hard to understand, there is little or no documentation regarding the actual use of the machine. I can understand G code and all of that but I can't get the machine set up correctly.

So I would like to know if it is possible to run this machine using different software and what that would require ie: new controller boards etc. I seem to be missing something and the documentation supplied with the machine is a bit lacking.

Has anyone any experience with NcCad coz I really need help.

I really hope there is someone on here that can help.

Doc

Lives in Taunton, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 22-05-2013 Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 11.
    After spending two days trying to get this machine set up right I'm finally getting somewhere, X and Y seems to be right now lets try the Z axis.

Finally managed to run a program today properly, NcCad is not such a bad program after all but the manual for it is crap.
    So if anyone needs help just ask.

Hi Doc welcome to the site!

Congrats on getting the machine up and running!

No experience with NcCad here I’m afraid, I would suggest for you to look at some of the other Mill conversions to get a better idea of what is involved. I have never done a mill conversion myself so am definitely not the best person to advise you, however there are other members who have done conversions and one of those is Robin Hewitt who converted his Warco Major, you can view his conversion build log here.