. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi guys

I would appreciate a bit of help please.
    We are trying to source items needed for a profile cutter conversion. (1.5m x 3m).
    Similar to the one on this page: http://www.donedeal.co.uk/for-sale/tools/3218065
    This is a slow moving machine.

Various factors are pointing us towards using belts and pulleys to drive the two axis.

My first stumbling block is:
    Since this beast has a very heavy (but smooth) gantry, I doubt that a direct drive on the pulley would be best suited, so my reasoning is to go for
    - at least a 1:3 reduction pulley on the drive (is this enough?)
    - source a bigger oz/sq motor for torque at low speed (thinking of 12NM nema 34)
    - use as small possible pulley to drive

Second stumbling block:
    Looking at availability of pulleys/motors/belts I have realised that I have no experience in how pulleys are mounted on the motor. I know you can drill them out to the desired motor shaft size, but how is it secured properly?

Thanks in advance
    Okkie
    -- if you can't be good, at least be good at it --

Hi, having worked on many of these old machines in the past a word of warning. Most of these would not go any faster than 3M/min and we primarily designed and built for gas cutting only. We had retrofitted some of them for plasma cutting but the top speed remained the same. This cantilever type machine only has a drive system on the middle rail and uses the outside rail and bearings as a sort of counterbalance. The problem with this machine moving too fast is that it will whip on the outer end of the cross beam. Acceleration should be slow and smooth to prevent this. As you say these machines are quite heavy but were driven by small motors. The picture is not too clear but does it have gearboxes fitted to it?
    What are you thinking of converting the machine to do?

Ian

Hi Ian

Thanks for the quick response.