Page 46 of 55 FirstFirst ... 364445464748 ... LastLast
  1. Quote Originally Posted by JoeHarris View Post
    Glad it helped - I was pretty scared of this part of the build!! Clive and Dean were super helpful as usual. I think I used 2.5mm tri-rated, I'll try and remember to check for you when I get home.
    In fact you can see in the pictures it says 13AWG which is 2.5mm. It hasn't seen any hard use yet so remains to be seen if it will work well, but it switches on without killing me or catching fire, so that's a start!

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeHarris For This Useful Post:


  3. #452
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeHarris View Post
    Glad it helped - I was pretty scared of this part of the build!! Clive and Dean were super helpful as usual. I think I used 2.5mm tri-rated, I'll try and remember to check for you when I get home.
    It was Clive that put me on to you and convinced me I could build the supply. It looks really simple but at the same time I can totally understand the fear lol I was petrified but now I think it'll be relatviely easy just trying to work out if I can cram this into an ATX power supply casing if I move the fan externally and add a 2nd fan either so it blows in one side and sucks out the other.

    I want to try and fit the stepper drivers and self build PSU in a PC mini tower case with a whole pc as well.

    I have a mini 80plus PC power supply I can fit somewhere in the case (It's about 1/3 size of ATX) and I think I can put the AM882 where the drive bays are. I could ditch the Hard disk and run from a fast USB flash drive or SD card it will be quick enough for linuxcnc. Or I could mount the hard disk somewhere else. I think as long as the PSU's extract their heat to the air and I add a bathroom extractor fan as well for the pc and stepper driver waste heat I'll be ok. Maybe add an active intake as well sucking air a distance away from the extraction point.
    Last edited by Desertboy; 06-09-2017 at 07:49 AM.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  4. #453
    Joe A picture paints a thousand words I tend to point people to your P/S vids (if that is ok) as they are an excellent way to show how easy they are to build. There is one point and you have it correct is that you must not but an earth (ground) to the bolt on the top of the transformer that runs through it. It is ok at the bottom end ie the plate.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:


  6. #454
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeHarris View Post
    In fact you can see in the pictures it says 13AWG which is 2.5mm. It hasn't seen any hard use yet so remains to be seen if it will work well, but it switches on without killing me or catching fire, so that's a start!
    If you do die can you get some one to send me a PM saying get 4mm wire lol ;) I missed that but actually managed to read the part number off the connector blocks and find them on ebay lol.
    Last edited by Desertboy; 06-09-2017 at 07:51 AM.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  7. Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    Joe A picture paints a thousand words I tend to point people to your P/S vids (if that is ok) as they are an excellent way to show how easy they are to build. There is one point and you have it correct is that you must not but an earth (ground) to the bolt on the top of the transformer that runs through it. It is ok at the bottom end ie the plate.
    No worries Clive - just glad they are of some use to people!
    Btw I have made a playlist of the two videos here to keep them together: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...zD30sZjtp_VyqY
    Last edited by JoeHarris; 06-09-2017 at 06:35 PM.

  8. Quote Originally Posted by Desertboy View Post
    If you do die can you get some one to send me a PM saying get 4mm wire lol ;) I missed that but actually managed to read the part number off the connector blocks and find them on ebay lol.
    Those connector blocks are pretty huge and a total overkill! I recon 2.5mm should be ok as it is rated for 30amps

  9. Another little part made...

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeHarris For This Useful Post:


  11. #458
    Beautiful!!

    Skickat från min SM-N910C via Tapatalk

  12. #459
    Just stunning work, made me realise I forgot to buy a vice yet ;)
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  13. #460
    Quote Originally Posted by Desertboy View Post
    Just stunning work, made me realise I forgot to buy a vice yet ;)
    Or a big hammer
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

Page 46 of 55 FirstFirst ... 364445464748 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 3-Axis CNC Router - For Helices.
    By Dalmango in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-2014, 06:27 PM
  2. BUILD LOG: 3 Axis Router
    By GTJim in forum DIY Router Build Logs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-01-2013, 12:08 PM
  3. BUILD LOG: Wobbly: my first 3-axis router
    By Sodster68 in forum DIY Router Build Logs
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20-01-2013, 09:28 AM
  4. 3 axis cnc/router bed
    By dudz in forum Marketplace Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 28-12-2012, 08:38 PM
  5. Need 6' x 4' bed, 4 axis router design.. Help..!
    By fasteddy in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 17-09-2010, 11:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •