Page 52 of 55 FirstFirst ... 2425051525354 ... LastLast
  1. #511
    Awesome and as routercnc said it sounds to work smooth,(I write that to show that I know something from cnc machines), lol,you are almost there man,carry on!!!

  2. Getting close now... two axis moving, spindle on and spinning.

  3. Hello all,

    Bit of an explanation of my limit switch wiring and video of all axis now moving below:



    https://www.youtube.com/user/joerharris

  4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to JoeHarris For This Useful Post:


  5. #514
    Must be proud of your self :) still watching your video's so well done mate.

  6. I have been busily getting my head around fusion 360 in the background (very nice programme, can't believe they let the likes of me use it for nothing!) and sent my first programme to the machine this evening and of course things did not go quite to plan.

    The intention was to cut a small pocket 55x55mm with a 1/2" router bit (12.7mm)

    This was all set up correctly in fusion (I think) and it cut fine, albeit far too slow (I'll up the feed rate next time around), but the problem came when I measured the part - see pictures below... any ideas!?

    After all this time building, it is dawning on me that I have no idea how to use this new tool of mine :(

    Edit: Sorry - pictures make this look worse than it is as I forgot to zero the calipers! I'll take some new pictures...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6660.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	263.6 KB 
ID:	23668   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6661.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	289.7 KB 
ID:	23669  
    Last edited by JoeHarris; 23-01-2018 at 10:32 PM.

  7. New pics after previous post - prob need to run the calibration wizard in the settings window of MACH3 again... but being out by 0.8mm in one direction and 1.4mm in the other does not seem a great starting point.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by JoeHarris; 23-01-2018 at 10:39 PM.

  8. #517
    Joe don't get despondent, this is normal when first getting the machine calibrated. Check it over a greater distance say 300mm in fresh air ie. in the midi type g1 f500 x300 and check to see if it has move exactly 300mm then do the same on Y ie type Y300 and check that. you might have to amend the steps per.
    Last edited by Clive S; 23-01-2018 at 10:53 PM.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  9. Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    Joe don't get despondent, this is normal when first getting the machine calibrated. Check it over a greater distance say 300mm in fresh air ie. in the midi type g1 f500 x300 and check to see if it has move exactly 300mm then do the same on Y ie type Y300 and check that. you might have to amend the steps per.
    Thanks Clive, it was nice to see it cutting at last and Iím sure I will get it all sorted but I have quite a few things to fix and finish and Iím getting very impatient!! I will have another go tomorrow...

  10. #519
    Hi Joe, good to see your machine is moving, albeit not as accurately as it should! I've been using my machine for a while...as you can see from the state of the bed (sacrificial) I still make mistakes. Every day is a learning day

    Hope you get it sorted soon

    Sent from my HUAWEI VNS-L31 using Tapatalk
    Neil...

    Build log...here

  11. #520
    No big deal.
    Like Clive said you run the calibration and Mach 3 asks if the axis you calibrate,each time,moved at the distance you want,you put the correct distance in the proper box and you see the machine do the correction!
    Nice to make the first cut , especially with a machine you build, right?

Page 52 of 55 FirstFirst ... 2425051525354 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 3-Axis CNC Router - For Helices.
    By Dalmango in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-2014, 06:27 PM
  2. BUILD LOG: 3 Axis Router
    By GTJim in forum DIY Router Build Logs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-01-2013, 12:08 PM
  3. BUILD LOG: Wobbly: my first 3-axis router
    By Sodster68 in forum DIY Router Build Logs
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20-01-2013, 09:28 AM
  4. 3 axis cnc/router bed
    By dudz in forum Marketplace Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 28-12-2012, 08:38 PM
  5. Need 6' x 4' bed, 4 axis router design.. Help..!
    By fasteddy in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 17-09-2010, 11:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •