. .
    hiya one and all,

i am very new to the CNC scene and hence you will find my querry might be asking for alot.

I am in need of a CNC milling machine. now either I will build one out of my X2 from axminster or buy one that is complete and ready to run.

so here goes:

I mainly work in aluminium.

what would be the best for money. build my own out of the X2 or buy a complete machine.

where would the best place be to buy a complete machine.

for a diy build where would I start.

I am price consious so I am looking for best price.

I know that there is a pulley conversion but where can I get one in the uk, as the screetch is very annoying.

I understand that a computer is required but what software do you need.

further more, what is the easiest 3d drawing software to design the parts with.

finally is there anywhere that teaches cnc milling for hobbiests and using the software for designing parts?

guess this is the first post of many but hope that you all are patient enough with me.

Many thanks

Becky

Quote Originally Posted by Rebekah_harper View Post
    hiya one and all,

i am very new to the CNC scene and hence you will find my querry might be asking for alot.

I am in need of a CNC milling machine. now either I will build one out of my X2 from axminster or buy one that is complete and ready to run.

so here goes:

I mainly work in aluminium.

what would be the best for money. build my own out of the X2 or buy a complete machine.

where would the best place be to buy a complete machine.

for a diy build where would I start.
    As far as I know there are no kits in the UK for X2's, there are some in the States like CNC fusion but although cheap are not very good, things like poor thrusts and commercial Nook rolled ballscrews not suitable for CNC use.

DIY build would require you to get advise preferably from someone who has done an X2, This forum is very good though.