. .
    Hello
    I am new to cnc's and have just completed my first diy cnc. (metric)
    I am having a problem with setting the stepper motors up.
    My stepper motors are Nema 23, 200 steps per rev
    My micro steps settings are 1/8
    My lead screw is 1 turn = 2mm

I am getting so confused with the setting a do not know what to put into Mach3
    Can someone help me with these settings.

please help
    Kevin

Kevin,

Fairly straightforward once you know how...

Your motors are 200 steps per rev with the drivers set on 1/8th step, this means you have 1600 steps per rev. (200 steps x 8 microsteps).

Lead screw is 2mm for 1 turn, mach3 needs to know how many steps for 1 unit (or 1mm).

So, 1600 steps will turn you leadscrew 1 full turn and in your case move your axis 2mm. Therfore 1600 steps divided by 2mm = 800 steps per unit (1mm).

You could easily get away with setting your boards to 1/4 or 1/2 stepping as set at 1/8th stepping with 2mm pitch leadscrew the accuracy will be 0.00125mm per step, change them to 1/2 stepping then each step will be 0.005mm, the less steps you need the better if you ask me... Of course if you change to 1/2 stepping then the steps per unit will need to change to 200. (400 steps per rev divided by 2mm).

3. The Following User Says Thank You to HiltonSteve For This Useful Post:

Thanks for that. It now makes sence.

The main bennifit to higher micro stepping is smoother operation at lower speeds but it does come at a cost with higher velocity unless your drives can morph the steps as the RPM's rise. It also makes the parallel port/Mach work harder has it as to deal with more pulses per second.

If you don't want high velocity and the PC/PP are good for it then stick with higher micro steps has you'll get smoother running motors.